Receiver help for tracking wounded game

Status
Not open for further replies.

wgarrett37

I am a high school student from Indiana. In our senior engineering design class, my group decided to attempt to make a system to track game animals, namely whitetail deer, that have been mortally wounded by archery equipment using a radio beacon. We have a small beacon made for falconry that transmits at around 173 MHz and need a way to find it. None of us have any experience with radio tracking technology and any pointers on getting, using, or possibly making a receiver would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

GrumpyGuard

I would purchase a Baofeng UV-5R. If you do an internet search you can find the radio for around $50.00 on either Amazon or Ebay. That is the easy part. Since you are not licensed please don't transmit on the radio. I would suggest that you and your team get together with one of your local amateur radio clubs and have them teach you how to hunt radio transmitters. There is so much involved in finding a transmitter that you are better off having the radio club teach you.

robertmac

Premium Subscriber
Don't really need to have a transceiver for this. Then the temptation to transmit is removed. There are a number of good receivers and antennas for the 174 MHz frequencies that a lot of wildlife tracking people use. Not really sure how you would track a "mortally" wounded animal without first putting the transmitter on the animal. A blood trail would probably give more results. A google search will provide links to these low powered transmitters, antennas and receivers that are more sensitive than the Ham radio listed hear and others. These receivers will also have the proper step to hear the transmitted signal.

Last edited:

pinballwiz86

Premium Subscriber