RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Radio Equipment Installation Forum


Radio Equipment Installation Forum - Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2009, 3:04 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
Question silverado new body style

Hey folks, just got a new body style silverado and was wondering how anybody went about installing their equipment, antennas, power wires , and so on. Pics would be a great help. The truck that I have is the extended cab.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2009, 9:45 PM
gambill1's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kanawha County,WV
Posts: 200
Default

I have one also. have not installed anything yet. but on my old silverado my antenna cable and power wires came thru the gromet that the hood release cable goes through. it seems every time they change a car or truck it gets harder and harder to find places to mount and route stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2009, 9:08 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 44
Default

The new chevy trucks are easy to get through the firewall, if you look under the dash to the left on the drivers side right behind that conector asmb there is a round cut out that you can remove from the insulation and there is a dimple in the metal behind that what works perfect to center a hole saw. Also if it has a center console, a havis console fits in the center if you pull out the center of the factory one, ill look for some pictures I have done alot of new chevys with some really sick installs
__________________
TK790---BR330T---MCS2000---HT1000----XTS5000
TK890---BCD996---CDM1250---HT1250----XTL2500
TK730---BCT15-----VX3000------EX600
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2009, 4:35 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
Default

Also I am a firm believer in NMO mounts if any one has done one where did you drill and how did you rub the coax????
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2009, 7:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 13
Smile

I also have a new body style silverado 1500. I have 3 NMO mounted antennas on the roof. If you follow the drain lines in the roof i have one antenna center and then skip a drain line and to the next on either side i have antennas. Remove the third brake light and you can see into the roof. Remember to look at where you are going to drill and not hit any supports you want just body metal. To run the wires remove the weather striping around the door and you can run the cable down the inside in the dead space down to the floor board. there should be plastic inserts on the floor boards that pop out and there is a channel just for the cable to run to the front of cab and then into the dash to go where ever you want. I have my radios kind of hap hazardly mounted in the center console right now but I am going to either purchase or build a center console for my radios.
Good luck
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 6:59 PM
mobile1's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sk
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrrider06 View Post
Hey folks, just got a new body style silverado and was wondering how anybody went about installing their equipment, antennas, power wires , and so on. Pics would be a great help. The truck that I have is the extended cab.
It would help to know more about your truck's interior. LS / LT / LTZ / Z71 ? Pickup or SUV type? Bench seat or buckets with console? A pic would be helpful.
__________________
Just listening to that funny sound of DES Encryption now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-01-2010, 2:51 PM
Larryfire26's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hudson Valley NY
Posts: 63
Default

Same here I have a 2009 silverado crew cab and cannot find a way to go from engine compartment thru firewall! Does anyone have any ideas on how to route wires thru the firewall, Need to connect my strobes and two way radio power
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2010, 7:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: bergen county
Posts: 13
Default

i also have a 2010 crew cab ltz and i know about the firewall cut out but im wondering having a LTZ model if its a good idea to mount radio heads in front of console in the empty space above the cup holders and did you guys have to pull down head liners to drill for NMO mounts or were you able to do the 3rd brake trick.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2010, 9:43 PM
pddispatcher's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 822
Default

I've got an 07 LTZ and about ready to outfit it.

First:

Jotto makes an excellent center console ( its pricy at over $200 bucks but it looks awesome )

I will be drilling the hole and installing one NMO Antenna but I will probably take it to a radio shop and let them do that.

I will be mimicing that install almost to a T as I like that console and especially that switchbox.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-2096
Kenwood TK-272G
Kenwood TK-5720 (P25 Mobile)
Kenwood TK-5220 (P25 Portable)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 8:25 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: bergen county
Posts: 13
Default

looks good but im thinking something that doesnt look so commercial, thanks for idea tho.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2010, 8:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbabroff View Post
I also have a new body style silverado 1500. I have 3 NMO mounted antennas on the roof. If you follow the drain lines in the roof i have one antenna center and then skip a drain line and to the next on either side i have antennas. Remove the third brake light and you can see into the roof. Remember to look at where you are going to drill and not hit any supports you want just body metal. To run the wires remove the weather striping around the door and you can run the cable down the inside in the dead space down to the floor board. there should be plastic inserts on the floor boards that pop out and there is a channel just for the cable to run to the front of cab and then into the dash to go where ever you want. I have my radios kind of hap hazardly mounted in the center console right now but I am going to either purchase or build a center console for my radios.
Good luck
This is exactly how I did it, although I mounted the radio under the rear seat and use a remote head on the radio my agency provides. I had to fabricate a custom cable to increase the length of the control head to reach to the front cab but other than that it was a pretty easy install.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2010, 9:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: bergen county
Posts: 13
Default

got any pics , i want to see every option of doing this before i start drilling and other stuff, i also have a remote head , yaesu ft 100d gonna be mounted in that spot .
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 7:46 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Keller, Tx
Posts: 5
Default

Does anyone have pictures from an install on a 2007+ new body style crew cab ltz? I'm working on my 2009 2500hd duramax crew cab ltz truck. I'm leaning to a stake mount, I tried a hood bracket mount but it wouldn't work. I'm mounting a CR-8900 Diamond Antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:43 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,062
Default

Just did my dad's 2012 LTZ. He had the sun roof, so center of the crew cab roof was out. We ended up popping the third brake light off and mounting the NMO just in front of there. Snaked the wire to the driver side, down the pillar and along under the door sill to the center console.

Probably one of the quicker installs I've done. One radio, one antenna. Power we ran through an existing grommet on the driver side, behind the under dash fuse panel. Made a small incision off to one side and worked the power through there from the engine side. Ran the power along with the cable that leads from the battery to the under hood fuse box. We ran power off the positive post of the battery and grounded to the fender next to the battery. There are two posts on the under hood fuse box, one with a 30 amp fuse, and one with a 40 amp fuse. I believe the 30 amp fused post is intend for charging a trailer battery. Not sure what the 40amp post is for. Anyway, from what I've read, it sounds like you can run power off one of those posts without any noise issues.

I've gotta do an install in my brother in laws truck in a few weeks, basically the same as my dads. Might try using the posts on the fuse box under the hood.

Remember, getting the antenna up high, preferably on to the cab roof, is really going to help. Mounting on the stake pockets does work, but you can get shielding from the cab, and if you are close enough, it can throw you SWR off.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:35 AM
Panama DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wg5jim View Post
Does anyone have pictures from an install on a 2007+ new body style crew cab ltz? I'm working on my 2009 2500hd duramax crew cab ltz truck. I'm leaning to a stake mount, I tried a hood bracket mount but it wouldn't work. I'm mounting a CR-8900 Diamond Antenna.
What's the issue with the bracket mount?
__________________
Felipe G
KE7WOX
RR Database Admin - Country: Panama
2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer
Icom IC-2200H
Icom IC-208H
Motorola i580
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 5:16 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Keller, Tx
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N467RX View Post
What's the issue with the bracket mount?

Operator Error, there is no problem. I was trying to mount it in the wrong place. On my 2009 25000HD I remove the black plastic plate between the hood and windshield on the driver side. It just pops out. There is a bracket that will take a 1/2 bolt.

The mount is the GM3L from Walcott CB. Now to fish the power and coax thru the firewall.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 9:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: bergen county
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wg5jim View Post
Operator Error, there is no problem. I was trying to mount it in the wrong place. On my 2009 25000HD I remove the black plastic plate between the hood and windshield on the driver side. It just pops out. There is a bracket that will take a 1/2 bolt.

The mount is the GM3L from Walcott CB. Now to fish the power and coax thru the firewall.
i have that mount and what i notice is that it comes lose every now and then but thats because i use a longer heavier antenna , use the recomended size antenna and should be fine
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:24 PM
jhooten's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Paige, Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,464
Default

Radios:

Thought I had one of the ants. Weather permitting tomorrow.
__________________
Jerry

I read it on the internet, so it must be true.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 1:22 PM
eagle15's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Mfg. Troy manufacturing


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=35.473619,-97.397082
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 1:27 PM
eagle15's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Mfg Troy consoles took all of about 15 min to install. In my 2008 Chevy silverado work truck. for antennas I install them on my headache rack


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=35.473594,-97.396988
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions