RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Radio Equipment Installation Forum

Radio Equipment Installation Forum - Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2017, 7:05 PM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Angry Help with Motorola Systems 9000 installed in 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan

Hey forums,

I really need some help. I am 100% self taught on everything I know. I have a Motorola Systems 9000 unit installed. I previously had this in a 2004 Pontiac Montana and a 2005 Buick Rendezvous without any problems. However, about a week ago, I started have problems in the 2005 Buick Rendezvous. I assumed it had to do with my wiring at the battery.

I now installed it into a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. I have it wired as follows:

8 Gauge wire from the Motorola harness directly to to the battery positive terminal. The ground from the harness is grounded to the frame near the main controller.

From the controller head, I have the main module running to the controller. Off of the main module cable, there is 2 electric wires. these are bound together and patched into a fuse block. This fuse block then runs to a relay switch under my hood.

The Problem:

The relay is functional and has been tested (as well as replaced), If I bypass the relay, the system functions without any problems. The only issue with this is that it's powered on all the time and doesn't shut off with the keys.

I have replaced the relay, the cable harness, the module cable, the controller, the controller head, The fuses (for good measure, but never blown), the wiring, the connectors and everything else.