RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Radio Equipment Installation Forum


Radio Equipment Installation Forum - Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 5:30 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Res21cue
Posts: 309
Default Radio Power question

Hi all

Looking to power a Kenwood VHF mobile and a Uniden 996T scanner in a 2016 GMC Sierra. Normally I would just use fuse taps and be away but much to my surprise; the truck has 3 blade fuses which is new to me. Micro3 fuses. I canít find taps anywhere other than amazon with 3 blades.

There is an accessory blade on the drivers side fuse panel but only 1 but it is beside a 50 relay

My question is....

Can I crimp both positive wires together into 1 female spade connectors and have both units powered from that 1 blade beside a 50 amp relay? See attached pic. Not my pic but same set up except I donít currently have anything on my blade.

Confirmed this blade is RAP power aswell so it would be perfect if I can run both positives from it.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 8:24 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,542
Default

Short answer is Yes. Also a lot of older vehicles have unused fuse slots that have one side populated with a female connection that is connected to either the ignition switch or direct to the battery. You could use a blade type crimp-on to tap un-fused power. Tie-wrap the wire(s) to something to stabilize them.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 10:06 AM
crazyboy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 744
Default

Youíre planning on powering the two way radio from the fuse panel not the battery?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 11:22 AM
n9mxq's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belvidere IL
Posts: 1,605
Default

here ya go.. Fuse tap..But I'd wire the VHF to something a bit stouter. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lumision-FA...4AAOSwv~1aENTe
__________________
Gene
Is there such a thing as too many radios??
Transceivers, receivers, and SDR! Oh My!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 12:24 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,187
Default

I'd avoid using fuse taps if you can.
And, as others have said, you don't want to run your Kenwood off a fuse tap for sure.

Ideally you really want the Kenwood connected to the battery. Taping into existing circuits is a common way to get noise into your radio.

As for pulling RAP power to control ignition sense circuits, there's a couple of easy ways to do itÖ
Check with the GM upfitter guides to see if there is a ignition switched power feed available under the dash. I did an install a while back in a 2017 F350 and Ford installed a connector under the passenger side dash that had a bunch of circuits for various upfitter usage, including a separately fused ignition sense lead. I connected to that and didn't have to tap into existing fuses.
Other option, and I've done this on a few GM's, is to find an unused circuit. The trucks I was installing in didn't have sun roofs, so I was able to find the taped off lead in the A pillar that would have fed the sun roof. I installed a 3 amp fuse in the sun roof slot (rated for 20 amps) and used that.

I'm always a bit leery when I see an install done using fuse taps. While they do work, it only takes a bit of extra work to do a better looking install. Especially if you are going to be doing anything that requires more than a few amps.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 7:14 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,598
Default

I'm pretty sure the GMC is similar to the GM Trucks. There's a spot to route a main power wire into the truck without cutting through the firewall or anything.

Power wire: Easy wires through firewall, thought I'd share - 2014 / 2015 / 2016 / 2017 / 2018 Silverado & Sierra Accessories & Modifications - GM-Trucks.com

RAP Power for Ignition Sense: 2014+ R.A.P (Retained Accessory Power) - 2014 / 2015 / 2016 / 2017 / 2018 Silverado & Sierra Accessories & Modifications - GM-Trucks.com

Might be of some use to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 7:43 PM
KK4JUG's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: GA, AL, TX, OK, KS, AR, NC, or MI
Posts: 1,758
Default

MMckenna's right. No fuse tap. That might work for an extra cigarette lighter plug or some fancy inside lighting but the radio:? I wouldn't. The firewall on new vehicles is sometimes lacking for openings. If you're uncomfortable with trying to wire it, go to a professional radio shop and let them do it, including a ground to the frame or something substantial. Just the wiring into the passenger compartment. You can do the rest of it.

And I always label the wire coming off the battery. Repair shops might need to know what that maverick wire is.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you can read this in English, thank a vet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 6:39 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hammond, IN
Posts: 1,622
Default

I took my Toyota Camry to an audio installer. I told them to run the wiring from the battery + and frame - that would power a 2,000 watt audio amp. They charged $85 for the job and had it done in less than 20 minutes.
__________________
Bill
N4GIX - Ham / WQWU626 - GMRS
VV-898, TK-840(N), 2xTYT-7800, 2xUV5R v2+, HP1, BCD436HP, TMV7A, Ritron RRX-450 Repeater, MD-380, XPR7550, 2xCS800, Bridgecom BCR-40U Repeater, Elecraft KX3 + PX3
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2017, 8:19 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 198
Default

Should had them run the - back to the battery not the frame.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2017, 11:52 AM
N9JIG's Avatar
Sheriff
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Far NW Valley
Posts: 3,783
Default

I brought my truck to an upfitter for the antenna and power installation. He installed a relay and high-power line to the rear so I could power my radios with the ignition directly off the battery.

I have not had any vehicular noise issues.
__________________
Rich Carlson, N9JIG

Facts are facts but my opinions are my own and may not reflect those of whom I work for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions