RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Radio Equipment Installation Forum


Radio Equipment Installation Forum - Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 9:18 AM
Danny37's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 431
Default 1 power supply for 2 radios, how to?

So I have two vertex vx-4207 mobile radios that I use as scanners. One has been collecting dust in storage for a while so I thought I should I hook it up. There's no transmitting on these radios as they are used specifically for receiving purposes only. I have a 10 amp supply for one of them and I'm clueless on how I should hook up the second one. Is it safe? Do I need to buy fuses for the 2nd radio? (The one I use currently has fuses) is there a spiltter of some sort to split the power? links for products (preferably on Amazon) would be really appreciate.

Thanks in advance
__________________
Volunteer EMT
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 9:37 AM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,532
Default

i use a Astron 10 AMP on all 3 Motorola radios for base use only TX on 1 radio all 3 have the Motorola Power Cables i just hooked all 3 to the Power Terminal on the rear of the Power Supply.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 9:42 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Woodlands, MB
Posts: 690
Default

There shouldn't be a problem. Hook them up in parallel. Connect the plus lead from each radio to the plus terminal on the supply and the negative lead from each radio to the negative terminal on the supply.

You won't need to by fuses for the second radio, but it's good practice to have fuses.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 9:48 AM
Danny37's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 431
Default

So bare wire from both radios making contact with each other won't do any damage to radios or the power supply when I connect them to the leads?
__________________
Volunteer EMT
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 10:19 AM
FedFyrGuy's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hagerstown, Maryland
Posts: 73
Default

Or you could get really fancy with one of these:

https://powerwerx.com/powerpole-power-distribution

West Mountain Radio - RIGrunner Models

MFJ Enterprises Inc.

But you've gotten some good advice from others also. Good luck!
__________________
N3PAG

Relm MX4000, RS Pro-18, Pro-136, Pro-668, Pro-2028, Pro2066, Pro2096, Pro2052, Pro2055, BC HP-1, HP-2, 345CRS and a Lafayette HA-52A just for old time's sake.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:00 AM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator---not censor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere other than home :(
Posts: 3,213
Default

Posts deleted. If you don't plan on helping then please don't reply. Thank you!
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:14 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Davenport,Fl.- home to me and the gators and the skeeters.
Posts: 1,487
Default

"...bare wire from both radios...", Danny, are you talking about bare copper wire? The insulation removed?
Dangerous to you, the radios, and the power supply!!!
__________________
Freedom, a beautiful way of life.
Pro-107, Pro-44, Pro-94, Pro-2006, DX-440
FT-2900R, FT-101EE, HTX-202, IIC-2AT, BTX-121, UV-5R, KT-7900D
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:37 AM
W9BU's Avatar
Lead Wiki Manager
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brownsburg, Indiana
Posts: 4,816
Default

Thread moved. The OP isn't using amateur radio equipment and his question has more to do with radio installation than it does amateur radio.
__________________
Lead Wiki Manager and Forum Moderator.

"The whole world's living in a digital dream. It's not really there, it's all on the screen." -- WB6ACU
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 1:06 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 7,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny37 View Post
I have a 10 amp supply for one of them and I'm clueless on how I should hook up the second one. Is it safe?
Yes, it's safe as long as you properly fuse the radios.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny37 View Post
Do I need to buy fuses for the 2nd radio? (The one I use currently has fuses)
Strongly recommended, however there are multiple ways to do this, see below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny37 View Post
is there a spiltter of some sort to split the power? links for products (preferably on Amazon) would be really appreciate.
Sure, Something like this would work:
https://www.amazon.com/Seachoice-ATO...rds=fuse+block
It allows you to fuse each radio individually as well as provides a connection point for the negative leads. I've used similar fuse blocks on installs, and they work well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 4:25 PM
k6cpo's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
Yes, it's safe as long as you properly fuse the radios.



Strongly recommended, however there are multiple ways to do this, see below:



Sure, Something like this would work:
https://www.amazon.com/Seachoice-ATO...rds=fuse+block
It allows you to fuse each radio individually as well as provides a connection point for the negative leads. I've used similar fuse blocks on installs, and they work well.
This fuse block doesn't make accommodation for the negative return lead. That would have to be a separate piece.

Something like one of the fused RigRunners mentioned above would be a better approach. Here's the setup I use in my shack:



The lead on the left to the 40A fuse comes from the power supply. The other three leads, each fused at 25A got to a 2m/70cm mobile, a 6m mobile and an iCom HF radio. The only issue with using something like this is that it requires the ability to install Anderson Powerpoles on all the leads.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2017, 6:16 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 7,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k6cpo View Post
This fuse block doesn't make accommodation for the negative return lead. That would have to be a separate piece.
Look closely at the bottom right in the photo. That's the negative buss.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2018, 7:19 PM
737mech's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clark County, NV.
Posts: 1,516
Default power supply

I currently run two switcher power supplies to power my scanners. One is sec1212 powers two bct-15X's, a psr-410 and a pro-2042. The second powers three scanners bct-15/ pro-2051 and bcd-536hp that power supply is repurposed from an old motorola repeater. I installed volt meters on both and have had zero problems for a few years now. You can see the volt meters 13.9 and 13.7. I really like those rigrunner modules! Looking into them now!!
Attached Images
 

Last edited by 737mech; 01-02-2018 at 8:07 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:46 PM
Danny37's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 431
Default

737 that setup is so clean man.
__________________
Volunteer EMT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions