RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Radio Equipment Installation Forum


Radio Equipment Installation Forum - Forum for discussing how to install radio communications equipment in Mobile, Base, Command Post, EOC, etc configurations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 11:56 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere deep below the earth/ND
Posts: 130
Default 2015 Ford Taurus

Hey guys, looking for any input on installing a dual band radio (yaesu ftm100) in a 15 ford Taurus sel.
Also looking to see where the best place would be to install a remote head that would be kinda out of the way.
Right now Im thinking about a seat bolt pedestal mount.

Also looking at drilling one hole for nmo antenna in the roof. Anyone have any pictures of a install in these Taurus's. I'm not sure if roof is still steel or aluminum like the f-150s are.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2018, 1:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,030
Default

steel roof
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2018, 5:48 PM
N9IIT's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Westfield, Indiana
Posts: 128
Default

Do you have the moonroof? If so you might consider just using the trunk lid instead of the roof. My 2 cents.
__________________
73 de N9IIT - Icom IC-91AD, IC-2720, Uniden BCD436HP
Michael Jezierski
Westfield, Indiana
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2018, 10:02 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,115
Default

Only Taurus's I've done installs on are the PI Sedans...so those typically have aftermarket consoles. Where I usually mount remote head radios, underside of the the trunk deck. Power typically comes from the power tap Ford provides in the trunk. I don't know if the power tap is present in a non-PI version but to check all you have to do is unscrew the two retaining nuts next to the driver's side tail light (in side the trunk) and fold the "carpet" out of the way. If there is a red plastic cover about floor level in the fender well, you've got power.

As far as antenna mounting goes, either the roof or the trunk lid should be adequate. The trunk lid isn't difficult to do cleanly (you will just be drilling the hole somewhat blind so you will need an NMO holesaw) and the coax can simply follow the support structure of the trunk lid and come out next to the OE wiring harness, down the hinge and into the trunk.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2018, 11:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,030
Default

there is no power point on the standard production Taurus in the trunk.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2018, 11:45 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Somewhere deep below the earth/ND
Posts: 130
Default

Thanks for the tips guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions