RS/FedEx shipping-- need some insight

Status
Not open for further replies.

methusaleh

I have never ordered from the RS website before, I've been buying their scanners and receivers for nearly 25 years in person at physical storefronts. I took the plunge and ordered a PRO197 just moments after midnight on Thanksgiving morning (kudos to RR members here for discussing the sale time!). The package shipped on 12/1/2010.

I was gone for a few days and just came home to find two FedEx notices on my door, which seem to indicate that a signature is needed for the package. However in my shipping notice from RS, it explicitly states that no signature is required. My situation is such that I don't have anyone home during the day who can sign for the package, and myself and my fiancee are never able to get near a FedEx facility during business hours. We are literally brand new to the area, and don't know anyone whom we would trust enough to wait at our house for FedEx to arrive.

I have tried reaching RS by phone several times, only to be led around in circles by their electronic menu system. I never did find an option to speak to a human, even after trying voice prompts of "agent" and "representative." I finally resorted to emailing them. I tried calling FedEx but they were not open (phone line staffed by a human) during the times that I attempted. I emailed FedEx and am awaiting a reply.

Is there any way I can waive the signature requirement, or perhaps have the package shipped to a RS store, or something? I think it is very odd that there seems to be a breakdown in communication between RS and FedEx regarding something as significant as this. I would imagine that RS would be familiar with the FedEx policies, and would note the signature requirement at some point during the order process.

NDRADIONUT

Database Admin
U can get it dropped off at a fed ex / kinkos location..... then pick it up at your leisure....

trap5858

Premium Subscriber