RadioShack Pro-107 iSCAN Trunking Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

parminides

I bought a RadioShack Pro-107 iSCAN Trunking Scanner. I'm a novice but was vaguely aware that scanners underwent an analog to digital format conversion similar to what happened with television.

I specifically asked the clerk whether this scanner would pick up the new format channels, and he said that it would since it's a trunking scanner.

Nonetheless, I cannot find any of the police, fire, ambulance, or any of what I'd call the exciting channels. Lots of chatter from cabs, airline baggage, and such, but none of the things I bought the scanner for.

The manual says that the entire national database is stored in its chip, so I'm inclined to believe that the clerk was wrong. I read in this forum that this scanner is analog only. Does that mean it won't pick up the emergency services?

In case the answer depends on location, I live in Nashville, TN (Davidson County).

If this scanner is no good for my puposes, would you please recommend an entry level scanner that will do what I want? Thank you for your attention.

egulley612

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
I bought a RadioShack Pro-107 iSCAN Trunking Scanner. I'm a novice but was vaguely aware that scanners underwent an analog to digital format conversion similar to what happened with television.

I specifically asked the clerk whether this scanner would pick up the new format channels, and he said that it would since it's a trunking scanner.

Nonetheless, I cannot find any of the police, fire, ambulance, or any of what I'd call the exciting channels. Lots of chatter from cabs, airline baggage, and such, but none of the things I bought the scanner for.

The manual says that the entire national database is stored in its chip, so I'm inclined to believe that the clerk was wrong. I read in this forum that this scanner is analog only. Does that mean it won't pick up the emergency services?