Help with Pro-164

Status
Not open for further replies.

futureemt14

Hi everyone,

I have a questions regarding the pro-164. The first an most important is, Can you monitor only one TGID at a time like you do with a VHF frequency?

Sorry for my ignorance but i'm new to trunking systems.

jfhtm350

You can only hear one Talkgroup (TGID) at a time but if you can put a TGID as priority then it will check that TGID every couple of seconds for activity and if there is activity it will switch over to that one but still you will only hear one Talkgroup. No scanner that I know of will allow you to listen to two frequencies/talkgroups at the same time. I cant remember if the 164 allows you to make a TGID a priority channel or not.

futureemt14

I did not word that very good. What I meant was listening to one TGID at a time. With mine I miss a lot of transmissions because my county fire and PD are all on the same system. And I can't figure out how to select just one TGID at a time.

Thank You,
Jacob

DickH

I did not word that very good. What I meant was listening to one TGID at a time. With mine I miss a lot of transmissions because my county fire and PD are all on the same system. And I can't figure out how to select just one TGID at a time.

Thank You,
Jacob

When a TG you want is active, push PSE (Pause).

jfhtm350

Thank You,
Jacob

It can be hard to keep up with the law, fire, and ems on trunked system in a big city. You could set up the scanner to where the law is on one bank and the fire is on another so you could just turn off whatever you dont want to hear at the moment. That makes it a little easier to monitor.

gmclam

Premium Subscriber
Monitoring single TG on PRO-164

Ok, any recommendations?