Radio Shack Pro-64 Scanner Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexzehn24

Hello I am new to the radio scanning world and know absolutely nothing. I picked up this radio at a local estate sale for 30 bucks. It worked when I plugged it in but I decided to reset it to see if I could add stations that I wanted to hear. After doing that I have absolutely no idea how to program it. The user manual doesn't make much since to me. I can find the local police fire and med station numbers but I dont know how to program them. Im sure this scanner is like 100 years old lol but id like to see if I can still get some life back into it. It has sooo many options for bank memory and things like that I just have no idea. I can follow instructions very well so if someone out there is willing to help that would be great. I live In South Bend/Mishawaka Indiana.

Blackswan73

What do you want to listen to? In your area, you will not be able to receive police and fire, mostly weather, taxis, air, and some railroads

alexzehn24

Why can't I listen to police and fire? Is the scanner too old? It was set up and I heard some local police but I reset it thinking I could add different things in. I shouldn't have.

wtp

even the easy stuff?

hit program
hit !
hit enter
type in a frequency.
and do that with any frequency in the database for your county.
the radio can't do any digital so skip those.
you might have heard something that sounded like the police, or might even be cops near you.
but it looks like your town went digital.

Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Why can't I listen to police and fire? Is the scanner too old? It was set up and I heard some local police but I reset it thinking I could add different things in. I shouldn't have.
The police and fire agencies are using a trunked radio system, https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=8084