RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Service Specific Monitoring > Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum


Railroad/Railfan Monitoring Forum - This is the place to discuss monitoring railroad communications.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2017, 11:28 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 345
Default Metro north and Amtrak

Do MNRR and Amtrak communicate via radio?
I take the train a lot from Manhattan and we always pass the Acela train and it flies by us within inches on the next track.
Do they ever communicate or know that another train is coming at high speed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2017, 1:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 188
Default

Yes they communicate via radio. The proper channels are listed in the rr database. Unless there's a problem, trains don't really talk to each other. I have ridden from NYP to Washington equipped with my radio and outside of inbound NJT trains getting radio checks from PSCC or CTEC-9 there isn't much chatter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2017, 6:44 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Old Lyme ct
Posts: 259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Priority-One View Post
Do MNRR and Amtrak communicate via radio?
I take the train a lot from Manhattan and we always pass the Acela train and it flies by us within inches on the next track.
Do they ever communicate or know that another train is coming at high speed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not usually why would they need to know,. Thats what the Dispatcher is for
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2017, 6:44 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Old Lyme ct
Posts: 259
Default

Also MNR also does not use the radio as much as amtrak and others
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2017, 11:03 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York North Carolina and all points in between
Posts: 2,154
Default

Metro North uses signals most of time except for work crews or other problems on the tracks. The radios are busy enough with out any extranious transmissions such as 2 trains passing one another. Speed limits are set for a section of track so each train knows how fast they may go.

To add to this we do have a single base station available to the RTC for direct contact on Amtrak's frequency.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2017, 11:05 AM
Priority-One's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: 155th street
Posts: 345
Default

Sorry for my ignorance, I'm new to rail scanning


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Providing the broadcastify feed for the 25/28/32 pcts in Harlem.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2017, 7:17 AM
N1SQB's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere On Earth
Posts: 2,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Priority-One View Post
Sorry for my ignorance, I'm new to rail scanning


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey, you never know until you ask. We have the privilege of having some experienced people on this subject on here, some of which already gave you responses.

Manny
__________________
N1SQB-AMATEUR EXTRA
The difference between men and boys, is the price they pay for toys!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2017, 8:04 AM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 1,989
Default

Hello,

It can be alittle unnerving to suddenly have a high-speed train pass by since you do not know it is going to occur. The engineer sees the track ahead and there should be clearance between the two tracks, so no problem.

As mentioned the radio is used for work crews, various trackside detectors, and to communicate changes to the train crew. Trains are mandated to implement a Positive Train Control (PTC) system. AMTRAK uses ACSES, which handles many of the communications between the train and the office. Metro North is implementing the same system for PTC.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanc...rcement_System

73 Eric
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2017, 6:05 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Old Lyme ct
Posts: 259
Default

if its passing a stopped train the engineer is supposed to whistle
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions