Wire antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

DennisKink

I am just getting into SW listening again after some 40 years,and I need to ask 2 questions.
I plan on setting up a wire antenna and need to know:
1) how long of a wire do I need and can it be TOO long
2) Does the wire need to be horizontally polarity,or will it being vertical hurt?

TIA

P.s. 3) Will a wire antenna work indoors?

Last edited:

RogueSteward

Length and horizontal vs vertical does matter, however, even with untuned random length wire antennas, you'll most likely be able to pick up decent shortwave broadcasts. I'm able to pick up shortwave across with a 1/4 wave 2m wire antenna I hoisted up into a tree. If I were to install a proper shortwave antenna, the incoming signal would be better. For example, when I had up a 102" wire antenna I made, I had excellent reception of shortwave.

With a sensitive enough receiver with proper filtering and a less than ideal antenna, you'll be surprised how much shortwave signal you can actually receive, however for the best shortwave experience, cut one to the proper length and install that the best you can.

TailGator911

Silent Key/KF4ANC
I am very satisfied with the end-fed PAL wire antenna that I have had for ten years or so. I use it with my Icom R75 and I hear international broadcasts just fine and the other night I was hearing Coast Guard cutters out of New Orleans. I have it about 30-feet up from my apex eave on the house to a tree the same height in the backyard, a 20-ft run of coax straight into the radio room. I run it into an old Grove TUN-4 preamp and feed out from that to the R75 with great results. The PAL wire antenna isn't that expensive, if I remember I think I paid about $59.99 ten years ago.

JD
kf4anc

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
I am pretty sure you are talking about the PAR (not PAL) antenna and that's sold by many distributors; but here's the source site

https://www.lnrprecision.com/endfedz/