some ham help

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
i am interested in getting a ham licence, but on the ARRL website i cannot find any classes in the nearby area. im in Butte Co. and willing to travel a few miles, i have not aqquired a radio yet, as im not sure what i would be looking for.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
You don't need to take a class, just buy this book.

It explains everything about amateur radio and even has the test questions and answers. I studied it for a week and aced the test.

You can also take practice tests on the internet . When you feel comfortable with your test results go to this site to locate a testing session in your area.

Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Will this book explain what i need to do as far as ths FCC, or is this handled by the test givers? And how well is a handheld radio's range? My interest is for storm reporting, I was graced with my first funnel cloud monday, and it touched down as i was reporting it in to NWS, but the cellphone signal was iffy, so i would like a radio for backup. Im looking at 50 to 80 miles from NWS Office. To the moderaters- I know these are pretty much Ham Questions, but i was hoping to find someone in the local area that had some info they could share.

Last edited:

ki6nkz

rubicon05 if you can wait until Dec 02 there will be a test at the sheriff's search & rescue bldg in Chico
Starts at 1400 or 2 pm. low cost.

zz0468

QRT
Banned
Is your interest in getting a ham license driven by an interest in radio, or an interest in storm spotting? The reason I ask is, depending on your motivation, I would suggest you become affiliated with the right group of people that share your interest.