Unication G4/G5 or Scanner in SF?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chayote

Hi folks, new to the board and really excited to see such a healthy community here. I've been toying around with the idea of picking up a scanner to listen to local traffic. Mostly public safety (police, fire, EMS) or any other interesting chatter that I can pickup in San Francisco.

Right now I'm trying to decide if the Unication G5 is worth picking up against a Uniden or Whistler scanner. I'm interested in picking up CHP, and from what I've read the SF police dept is planning to transition to P25 Phase I in the near future.

Does anyone have suggestions or feedback? I'm a novice and the ease of use for the Uniden and Whistlers is very appealing but the Unication seems to do much better with simulcast.

footage

Premium Subscriber
I have a G4. It is excellent for receiving EBRCS (East Bay), Oakland PD/FD and the new San Francisco county system, which for now is active only at the airport (most units encrypted) and for some vehicles on the transit system. The CHP extenders (scanned conventionally) come in fine when you hear them, but I have had issues with the G4 stopping on active frequencies. Right now you can scan 16 channels of SF trunked in conventional mode, which is interesting but low S/N ratio.

chayote

Awesome to know, thanks for the info! Any chance you'd be willing to share your programming files with me?

troymail

Silent Key
My input - do some homework. The scanners are MUCH (MUCH) more flexible. I have a G4 but only for it's ability to receive simulcast P25 systems that scanners have trouble receiving. However, the Unications are not perfect... and have I mentioned that scanners are MUCH more flexible?