Pro96 Antenna reception San Carlos to Marin County-Dublin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

norm25

Perhaps this should be asked on the Antenna forum but I thought maybe the pros in CA might know the topography better.

Using a Pro96, when located in the San Carlos-Belmont city areas, is it a reasonable expectation to pick up as far north as Marin and Alameda counties? I'm looking at a range of roughly 20-30 miles, perhaps less. The stock antenna picks up San Jose, Oakland, Richmond, SF and Alameda cities, but does not reach north into Marin County or north-east towards Berkeley-Dublin. Still impressive.

Apart from a gold plated Eiffel tower set up, what 2 or preferably one reasonably priced antenna can you recommend to give the greatest range so the stock antenna can be replaced. At least getting Marin county and Berkeley would be something.

As a newbie I thought perhaps get the following,

RS 20-032 for when the Pro96 is being used as a base unit to give better reception. Don't have a dedicated base unit so a portable will have to do.

Then get either RS 20-283 for $15.49 or RS 20-034 for $19.99 or something else affordable of this type. Not knowing which of these two are better for all round use. Now, if it's possible to get that range with just one antenna of this smaller type then I could dispense with the 20-032 type for now. Rubbery flexible antenna being preferred to prevent breakage as it may get banged around. The RS stock antenna is unfortunately not constructed like those stubby or short whip type as found on prc148/117/119. Now if they took a prc and de-gutted it replacing the innards with pro-96 so it can take a slight beating or bath, but the fragile looking bit is another story. Still an impressive piece.