Radio Newb, Advice on multiple antenna setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

rwgast

I recently purchased a a Realtek SDR dongle, and soon I would also like to get a BeoFang portable transceiver. I am an electronics hobbyist and originally picked up an SDR and MMDS down converter to help me debug my 2.4ghz xbee and nrf systems, along with analyzing wifi packets.

Since I got my SDR I am hooked on HAM activities, everything from police scanning to ADS-B plane
tracking. I would like to get in to ISS, and satlink stuff too. Currently I running a low noise amplifier and working on a Discone along with an ADSB antenna. I would like to build quite a few antennas for different purposes and mount them on my roof. I also have a nice LNA, my problem is I dont know the best way to run all these antennas in to one LNA on the roof and then in to a single feed line in to the house.

Is there an easy way to mount antennas on the roof and then switch them without climbing on to the roof to hit a switch on an a/b coax switch? The only thing I can think of is using RF relays on the roof controlled by a circuit in the house, the problem is RF relays are extremely expensive! Is there a way to switch coax lines with small signal transistors or even regular DC relays? Im looking for any solution to either switch the antennas or diplex them for a reasonable price. I plan on working from the Khz to 2.4ghz range.

zz0468

QRT
Banned
...I also have a nice LNA, my problem is I dont know the best way to run all these antennas in to one LNA on the roof and then in to a single feed line in to the house.

In general, the best way is don't. Combining multiple antennas to one input is fraught with all sorts of problems, the end result being that those antennas wind up behaving less like antennas, and more just a mass of metal in the air collecting signals in random directions.