ProScan: Many instances at the same time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

N9JIG

Sheriff
I have never used ProScan before so I want to get my ducks all in a row before committing a good chunk of change to this project.

After viewing the shack in this forum thread: https://forums.radioreference.com/pictures-your-shack-mobile-setup/350946-my-little-shack.html I am considering converting my shack to almost complete computer control, at least for my regular scanners. I would be using up to a dozen Uniden BCT15, BCT15X, 996XT, 996P2 and 536HP scanners and would devote a PC specifically for the control of these scanners. I would use these mostly for logging activity on MilAir and Civil air bands with ProScan and perhaps a instance or 2 of Pro96Com or Unitrunker thrown in.

Before I invest in a new PC, cables, the application itself and an audio mixer I want to ask a couple questions to see if it is worthwhile.

1) How many instances of ProScan is practical for a single PC? I plan on probably 10-12 scanners. Can I do this on a single PC?

2) If 10-12 instances will work how much RAM would I need? Would it work with 8GB or would I need more?

3) I would probably use Windows 10 but suppose I could use Windows 7 if needed. Would I have any problems with one or the other?

4) Can I run the audio for these scanners thru the computer so I could bring up a specific scanner or two to listen to while the others log activity in the background?

5) If audio thru the computer is not practical can you suggest a decent audio mixer to support a dozen or more sources? There will also be radios not controlled by ProScan that I might want to run thru a mixer.

I would probably use an Intel NUC i7 with 8 or 16GB of RAM with Windows 10. I would expect to use a couple decent 12-port USB hubs since it only has 4 USB ports on it. I would need 12 USB ports for the radios and probably 12 for sound devices if I would pump the audio thru it.