software for Whistler WS1040

web service

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

twyntoo65

Premium Subscriber
I'm new at this. I have just purchased a Digital Trunking Handheld Radio Scanner. Whistler WS1040.
I don't understand that I have to purchase software now to download so that I can get my freq.
I'm trying to get Harrison county & Gregg county.
I have purchased RadioReference, when I check and find the software to download my freq. they want $ 39.99. It was my understanding this was free thru the web service if you paid RadioReference.
I am 65 and totally disabled, and this would be a great comfort to listen to.
Any help would be appreciated.
twyntoo@outlook.com

buddrousa

Premium Subscriber
Sorry you misunderstood the ws1040 gre500 gre600 rs106 rs197 all require you to buy software and you also have to become a premium subscriber (the part you have). Not sure but you are not the first person to think this. But the fact is the 3 people that make the software that works with your scanner are not the owners of this site they are members just like you. Uniden bcd436hp and bcd536hp along with the Whistler ws1095 ws1098 trx-2 ws1080 ws1088 and trx-1 all are free to download the database due to deals made with the owner for a fee to use the database here.

DJ11DLN

You can program your scanner manually, but it is in my humble opinion a huge PITA. The software is an excellent investment, which incidentally includes all future updates thereto, and I do not mind at all the Premium Subscription fees. They help keep this place running smoothly. Let's face it, RR is a tremendous resource for scanner and radio enthusiasts of all sorts. And when I need to make changes in programming to my GRE500-type scanners, I can do it a heck of a lot more easily than by using the key pad, or even the software without library import capability.

ulra001

Premium Subscriber
My scanner whistler 1040 says it is empty I do not know to put the program that can be functional.