The RadioReference.com Forums

The RadioReference.com Forums (https://forums.radioreference.com/)
-   Scanner Programming Software (https://forums.radioreference.com/scanner-programming-software/)
-   -   software for Whistler WS1040 (https://forums.radioreference.com/scanner-programming-software/353400-software-whistler-ws1040.html)

twyntoo65 05-18-2017 8:31 PM

software for Whistler WS1040

I'm new at this. I have just purchased a Digital Trunking Handheld Radio Scanner. Whistler WS1040.
I don't understand that I have to purchase software now to download so that I can get my freq.
I'm trying to get Harrison county & Gregg county.
I have purchased RadioReference, when I check and find the software to download my freq. they want $ 39.99. It was my understanding this was free thru the web service if you paid RadioReference.
I am 65 and totally disabled, and this would be a great comfort to listen to.
Any help would be appreciated.
twyntoo@outlook.com

buddrousa 05-18-2017 9:12 PM

Sorry you misunderstood the ws1040 gre500 gre600 rs106 rs197 all require you to buy software and you also have to become a premium subscriber (the part you have). Not sure but you are not the first person to think this. But the fact is the 3 people that make the software that works with your scanner are not the owners of this site they are members just like you. Uniden bcd436hp and bcd536hp along with the Whistler ws1095 ws1098 trx-2 ws1080 ws1088 and trx-1 all are free to download the database due to deals made with the owner for a fee to use the database here.

twyntoo65 05-19-2017 8:22 PM

Thanks for your reply. I'll pay just to get my scanner programmed correctly.

DJ11DLN 05-20-2017 12:34 AM