RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Computer Aided Monitoring and Programming > Scanner Programming Software


Scanner Programming Software - This is the place to discuss third party scanner programming and control software.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #481 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2018, 2:27 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

Using the cable that came with the scanner, have tried it both ways with a reboot, checked and unchecked
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #482 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2018, 5:50 AM
Butelsoftware's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Hamvention 2018
Posts: 2,128
Default

Try re-installing the driver. That cable works fine with ARC500 1.3. There are no knowns issues with VC in 1.3.

Gommert
Butel Software
__________________
>>> Visit us at the 2018 Dayton Hamvention! SDS100 will be on demo! <<<
Dutch Design: best selling scanner software in the USA
US Sales: 1-800-SCANNER http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=41054
Reply With Quote
  #483 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:30 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

I have tried that over and over again, .Just tried it again.Just checked all the property panels after the reinstall and they all state that the driver is functioning properly. No known issues.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #484 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2018, 6:23 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

Maybe not doing this right...can you walk me thru it? When I open the USB Cable Driver folder on the CD itself, there are five folders listed -

Win-98_ME
Win2000
Win2003
WinVista
WinXP

30-3290 USB Driver Install

For Windows 10, (not listed) what are the steps? I've been installing the latest (Win2003)
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #485 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 6:28 AM
Butelsoftware's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Hamvention 2018
Posts: 2,128
Default

Drivers for the latest versions of Windows can be found here: Radio Shack Scanner Programming Software Support - The RadioReference Wiki

Gommert
Butel Software
__________________
>>> Visit us at the 2018 Dayton Hamvention! SDS100 will be on demo! <<<
Dutch Design: best selling scanner software in the USA
US Sales: 1-800-SCANNER http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=41054
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #486 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2018, 3:55 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

Installed latest version of driver for Windows 10 and no change. The virtual display window only allows keypad navigation - no logging, nothing in the drop down feature, and no virtual display, Anytime I try something and make a change or reinstall or anything, I always do a complete shutdown.

Now that I did the driver install for ARC500 which didn't work, now my ProScan stopped working,
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #487 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2018, 10:45 AM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

I've done everything Butel has instructed. On both my older Win7 machine and my brand new Win10 machine. Same results. I am asking myself now, is it possible to have a bad cable? But, if so, how am I able to program and control the scanner thru the PC perfectly? The ONLY things not working is logging and virtual display. Something is amiss here and I have been trying to straighten it out for a very long time and it's now getting ridiculous. All drivers are up to date and working perfectly. Software has been unistalled and reinstalled on two different computers. If I have a bad cable, is it possible to experience only partial problems ,i.e., a couple things not working and everything else is? I am going to buy a new USB cable - which one to buy for this scanner (ws1065) and Win10 and ARC500? I cannot think of anything else to do.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #488 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2018, 5:08 AM
K4EET's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Severn, Maryland, USA
Posts: 451
Question BCD536HP Scanner Audio Choppy with ARC536PRO Logger

Gommert,

I am using ARC536PRO Version 2 Build 14. When I start Virtual Control for Logging via USB/COM3, the scanner audio becomes "choppy" and the scanner no longer stays on a talkgroup for the duration of the transmission plus the delay time. The scanner jumps around quickly to different talkgroups cutting off transmissions after about a second of elapsed time.

Once I disconnect the Virtual Control from USB/COM3, the scanner audio returns to normal and the scanner remains on the talkgroup for the duration of the transmission plus delay time.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong when I use Virtual Control on USB/COM3?

Thanks in advance!

Dave K4EET
__________________

Retired E911 Police Communications Systems Manager
BC800XLT (1978) and BCD536HP (2015)
NOTE: Also a Motorola Police HT "Scanner" while working...
Reply With Quote
  #489 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2018, 7:25 PM
K4EET's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Severn, Maryland, USA
Posts: 451
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by K4EET View Post
Gommert,

I am using ARC536PRO Version 2 Build 14. When I start Virtual Control for Logging via USB/COM3, the scanner audio becomes "choppy" and the scanner no longer stays on a talkgroup for the duration of the transmission plus the delay time. The scanner jumps around quickly to different talkgroups cutting off transmissions after about a second of elapsed time.

Once I disconnect the Virtual Control from USB/COM3, the scanner audio returns to normal and the scanner remains on the talkgroup for the duration of the transmission plus delay time.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong when I use Virtual Control on USB/COM3?

Thanks in advance!

Dave K4EET
I addressed this to Gommert but perhaps somebody else might have some insight? Please feel free to respond in case Gommert doesn't. Thanks in advance! 73, Dave K4EET
__________________

Retired E911 Police Communications Systems Manager
BC800XLT (1978) and BCD536HP (2015)
NOTE: Also a Motorola Police HT "Scanner" while working...
Reply With Quote
  #490 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 10:47 AM
Butelsoftware's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Hamvention 2018
Posts: 2,128
Default

This is not the correct thread for asking ARC536 questions, but you enabled the log and resume option in ARC 536 VC.

Gommert
Butel Software
__________________
>>> Visit us at the 2018 Dayton Hamvention! SDS100 will be on demo! <<<
Dutch Design: best selling scanner software in the USA
US Sales: 1-800-SCANNER http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=41054
Reply With Quote
  #491 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2018, 2:02 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

Gommert, can you take a minute and address my problem? Any ideas and/or suggestions besides updating drivers? My previous post describes my symptoms - thanks
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #492 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2018, 6:16 AM
K4EET's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Severn, Maryland, USA
Posts: 451
Exclamation Attention moderators

Please move postings #s 488, 489 and 490 to the correct forum. Thanks! Dave
__________________

Retired E911 Police Communications Systems Manager
BC800XLT (1978) and BCD536HP (2015)
NOTE: Also a Motorola Police HT "Scanner" while working...
Reply With Quote
  #493 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 9:44 AM
Butelsoftware's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Hamvention 2018
Posts: 2,128
Default

You were going to buy a new cable?
Again there are no knowns issues with comms in 1.3. We tested misc. cables from Ebay and GRE/RS to verify and all seem to work.

Gommert
Butel Software
__________________
>>> Visit us at the 2018 Dayton Hamvention! SDS100 will be on demo! <<<
Dutch Design: best selling scanner software in the USA
US Sales: 1-800-SCANNER http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=41054
Reply With Quote
  #494 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 12:12 PM
TailGator911's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 269
Default

Again I ask, is it possible that only certain aspects of the features in the software are affected by a bad cable? Programs fine, and I can perform functions on the scanner via the VC's buttons - so how can everything else work but the virtual control? I've not heard of this before, therefore I hesitate to go out and drop $20 on a cable when the one I am using is communicating just fine between the computer/scanner. I've already told you about this and asked about it weeks or months ago...Ahhh, you know what, this is getting old. Just forget even responding to this, okay.

The only way to communicate with you is here since you have PMs blocked, so I am forced to say it here.. You do not reply from the website. You answer a Forum question vaguely every couple of weeks. This has been a 'Known issue' with me for a WHILE now and you know it.. You don't seem so supportive, or even interested and I am a loyal repeat customer. So, you know what? If you're not going to be professional about this and work out the problem I'll just go away and count my losses and never buy from you again. I'll pay the Pro price for the Basic version and consider you a lesson learned. That's it.

You have a nice day, sir, and God bless. It ends here.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP, BC895XLT, PRO-2006, PRO-2051,WHISTLER TRX-1, WS-1065, Misc.
Shortwaves: ICOM R75, ICOM 746 PRO, SDR#
Amateur: ICOM 746 PRO (2m), YAESU 2800M, YAESU VX-7R, ICOM IC-T21A
Reply With Quote
  #495 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2018, 1:22 PM
u2brent's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: KRWDPAXKRS1
Posts: 660
Default

Yes it is possible that a bad/wrong cable can give the results you are seeing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions