Yagi Antenna Install, Range, Height, Will it work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

btritch

I am thinking about buying a yagi antenna to point toward the Northwest..However, What I am trying to hear or would like to hear is anywhere from 110-120 miles away (This is as the crow flies, not by car), Is this even possible for a yagi to pick up that far, There is a small mountain range between here and there, well, actually hills, They are at a higher elevation also if that helps, What I'm asking though is this: Is it possible for me to purchase a yagi (big or small) and place it at about a 40-50 foot distance in the air on my tower and aim it to the NW if I will be able to pick up analog traffic on the frequency of 156-210 and 453.050 and possibly on 800MHZ, Much more on 156 and 453 then 800.. But what are my options here or is it even possible to recieve that far at all? I have never used a yagi before so it will be a new experience for me but can anyone shed any light on if any of this is possible and if so how? Any help will be appreciated, Thanks Again RR Subs!! For wonderful useful advice..I appreciate it..Any help appreciated, Thanks!

af5rn

Ya know, even though I own beautiful property in Arkansas, the nightmares of radio (non-)propagation in the Ozarks is one big reason why I would never move there. :lol:

It's possible you may occasionally get a scratchy signal on the high band, but I think you are SOL on UHF and 800.

Are there any television or broadcast radio stations in the town you are trying to receive? If so, can you receive them on a TV antenna at 50 feet? If you can't get a 50kw radio or televison station at that distance, then you don't have a chance of getting a 100 watt police repeater.

btritch

Ya know, even though I own beautiful property in Arkansas, the nightmares of radio (non-)propagation in the Ozarks is one big reason why I would never move there. :lol: