Antenna Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I have a good amount of experience with mobile antennas, but none with base antennas so I am a little lost. I want to set up a decent (read: decent, not top of the line) CB base station. I already have a CB radio to use. I don't want to spend too much so I was considering the Workman B100. Would this antenna be decent for the price and give me decent range(a few miles)? Would I be able to mount it somewhere on a shed that I'm going to use for my shack? Would I need a small mast attached to the shed then the antenna, or could it just be mounted on the shed itself? And, how would I ground it if I mounted it on the side of my house or on a mast?

Please steer me in the right direction on antennas and grounding for dummies.

Thanks.

Last edited:

DPD1

I haven't dealt with CB stuff since I was a kid, so I'm no expert. But judging by the size, I assume this is a coiled design. Which isn't going to give ideal performance, but I would think it would go as far as you mention. Anything that's better performance will be considerably bigger. It also doesn't need a ground plane, so it would appear that grounding for function is not necessary. Ground for potential lighting would be necessary if you live in an area that gets it, and that would be best learned about from an electrician if you want to do it right and follow code. You would definitely want to mount it on a mast above the top of the roof and use some decent cable... At least RG8X.

prcguy

That little 39" long antenna would not fall in the decent category. When you see an antenna company telling you how long to cut your coaxial cable and their antenna has "low bleed over" you should run.
prcguy

I live in Alabama, we don't get that much lightning, but we do get some. The antenna would not be mounted that high.