New to the hobby.

Status
Not open for further replies.

crabby62

Brand new to sw/scanner listening. It's been 55 years since I listened to our old shortwave in the farm dining room. Now I am starting out with a IC R70 and a BC895XTL. I just ordered the ARRL antenna and radio books, used from Amazon.
As I have unlimited space in back of our house, a long wire and scanner antenna will go up.
I would like to know if the lead in wiring from the antenna masts will have to be amplified? How do other people move signals from a down-lead to the radios?
Sorry about the dumb questions, no hams nearby.
Thanks, Thom

crabby62

The information you provided, doesn't make much sence to me. What I need to find out is when I run coax 50' from mast to house, 20' to wall, 30' to bench, does the signal need amplification? I will only be receiving signals. Thanks for any help.

Ok. so I have a question. I am new to digital scanning with a uniden bearcat bc396xt scanner upgraded from a old radio shack analog. I have downloaded both bctool and freescan software. Which is better to use? If I download programming into the scanner from one of these sites, then do I need to worry about manually programming ID talkgroups, hex/dec info, or other information? Any help with programming would be great. I did read easier to read manual from marksscanners.com and still confused. I am great at saving lives, but evidently stink at programming. Thanks.

KD2DLL

Feed Provider