Is this project to ambitious?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drafin

I'd like to take this antenna , build it and add an element for CB reception as well as an element for the 40-50 mhz range. Come to think of it an element for MILAIR would not be bad as well.

Now , when it comes to building an antenna, I'm a complete newbie. I'm the first to admit it. But I am handy and from looking at the plans I know I can build it stock.

My question is

a. is adding elements for the 3 bands I mentioned a possibility

b. if so how and what lengths and angles would be required

I know it would probably be easier to just buy an antenna in the freq ranges I want but where is the fun in that? :)

Draf

Last edited:

kb2vxa

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Not too ambitious but way too impractical. First of all you'll not solder a 9' CB element to an SO-239 with any hope of it staying vertical or not snapping the center sleeve. It gets worse, horribly worse when it starts looking like a Copper Cactus (Google it) made out of soft wire when that antenna is made from stiff copper tubing and it's only for VHF and UHF. I cringe when I think of what you have in mind. (;->)

OK you're a newbie and that's why KISS (keep it simple stupid) is so important. First of all forget about the CB part, a good old fashioned store bought antenna will do you justice. If you want to build a J Pole for VHF Lo Band go right ahead but don't louse it all up trying to figure out all those other elements. Now we get down to the VHF/UHF Copper Cactus, that's a practical idea being MilAir is nothing special sitting pretty in VHF to begin with. Last but not least are the plans you linked to, the most practical being you probably listen to 800MHz as well as VHF and UHF.