Diamond RH77CA Vs. Austin Condor

Status
Not open for further replies.

JASII

Memory Capacity
I haven't owned a handheld scanner for a few years, but I bought a Uniden Bearcat BCD325P2 recently. I am somewhat underwhelmed by the OEM rubber duck antenna. Several years ago, I bought a Diamond RH77CA and it seemed to work pretty well on VHF high band, UHF, and 800 MHz. I have no experience with an Austin Condor, but I have read a little bit about them. Anyway, can anybody here commend on their experiences with Diamond RH77CA Vs. Austin Condor? Is one of them clearly superior to the other? Or, is it like so many things in the radio hobby, that the Diamond might outperform the Austin Condor on certain frequencies and vice-versa?

DHAS12

Never used the Austin Condor, but In my opinion the Rh77ca is a good performer on UHF and VHF due to it being tuned for Ham use.

br0adband

I owned a Condor many years ago and was utterly disappointed in the performance across the main popular bands (150/450/900 and anything closely related) compared to the RH77CA but that's only my own experience of using both antennas. Perhaps the design of the Condor has been modified over the past decade or so since I owned one, I don't know, but I personally wouldn't buy one again myself. I bought my RH77CA in 2004-ish an I still own it, along with a Radio Shack 800 MHz antenna I purchased in the 1990s and they have been my go-to antennas since purchase but I do make a lot of antennas of various kinds since they're dirt cheap and easy to create, especially 1/4 wave ground planes.

In my experience of using the RH77CA it offers good/great receive performance from the CivAir band (118-136 MHz) all the way to the 935-940 MHz commercial business band and I can't recommend it enough as an antenna if you just one to get one that works well across a wide range of frequencies. It's not perfect, no, but it does remarkably well.