Need an antenna with a farther range.

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time posting on the forums, sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place.
I've got a BC125AT, and I'm looking for an antenna that will get me around 30 miles in range, if possible. Any help would be appreciated!

I_am_Alpha1

Welcome and good luck. Asking what's the best antenna has been known to start fights, especially with Hams...everyone has their preference. Everyone is different...different topography, different system, different scanner. What works for one may not work for others...but it's only money so let's see what happens. To better answer your question, please post more information. What city, county and state are you scanning from? What are you trying to listen to? Are you wanting to listen handheld, mobile, or base?

Diamond RH77CA SRH77CA Antenna -- is what was recommended 5 years ago on this forum...there may be better options today.

jaspence

Premium Subscriber
A directional antenna will give you the most gain, but only when aimed at the signal source. If you are thinking an airport tower, it would be great, but very poor for planes with signals coming from multiple directions and altitudes.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
This is my first time posting on the forums, sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place.
I've got a BC125AT, and I'm looking for an antenna

Mobile?
Portable?
Base?
Budget?
Skill level for doing your own installs?

Unless you give us some specifics, we'd just be guessing….

that will get me around 30 miles in range, if possible. Any help would be appreciated!

Antennas are important regarding how well your radio works, but topology will get in the way.
Unless we know where you are and who you are trying to listen to, no one is going to be able to tell you how far an antenna will work. It's more about the system you are trying to listen to than the type of antenna you are using on your scanner.

Details are important.

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!