Decoding using Dream - Sound settings?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reece

Hi, my first post here!! Greetings to all.
I have been decoding utility stations on and off for many years and recently experimenting with a 144Khz/12Khz IF decoder using Dream, this produces very clear signals with the ability to narrow the bandwidth without expensive radio filters.
However the problem is all/most software require an audio in through a sound port rather than the current desktop sound, I can only think of a connection from the current sound port out to another sound card input, would this work or is there a better method?
Thanks.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
I'm unsure what you mean by a 'current desktop sound'. I've fooled around with DREAM, and that's not how you hook it up.

You would make a connection between the 12khz IF directly to a input on your sound card on the PC. Some folks find it necessary to put a small audio taper pot in the line to control the level, as DREAM is very sensitive to being overdriven.

Some radios come with a tap already built in (the TenTec RX320D has one, for example, as does the new R8T from Alinco), and some need to be modified to make this work. What radio(s) are you planning to use for this app?

Mike

Reece

Sorry I didn't explain it well, as you say the 12khz output plugs into the radio's sound card input, Dream then decodes it and sends it out to the computers system sound or the sound card's output.
Problem is a decoder for fax/morse/rtty etc requires a sound card input, seems I would need another sound card, then send the current dream output to the morse decoder input, this is the problem.
I hope I explained it better (probably not, it is rather hard to explain!)

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus