Waterfall on Winradio 1.51 software

Status
Not open for further replies.

woebbers

Hi Gang

I'm new to SDR but not to shortwave in general. I need some tips on using the waterfall window using my G31DDC. The help file with the software isnt helping me much. Any tips would be much appreciated!

Sal

Token

Hiya Sal,

Lets start with the basics, there is no way I will be able to cover all of your potential issues with one post, so I will throw out a few things here, if they spur questions go ahead and ask them in this thread. We can build the information in the thread as we go based on questions and anyone who asks or answers them.

There are two windows that can be displayed as waterfalls, the upper left window is the “DDC” window and the bottom window is the “Wideband Display” window. The upper right window cannot be used as a waterfall, it is the Demodulator window and can show either post filtered RF spectrum or Audio spectrum. Sometimes in audio mode it would be most helpful if this one would do a waterfall also, it would help to shape filters skirts and notch filter tuning.

The waterfall shows data on three axis of data at one time, this is where it is superior to the spectrum display, which only shows two axis of data. The vertical axis, up and down, is time, the newest data at the bottom and the oldest data at the top. The horizontal axis is frequency, in this case displayed bandwidth (displayed does not necessarily mean demodulated or detected), with low frequency to the left and high frequency to the right. The Z axis is intensity of the signal, with the stronger signal being either a brighter color or a different color, depending on what palette you have selected.