A comparison of my police feed before and after switching to SDR

Status
Not open for further replies.

fireshaper

I had been using a Bearcat 996XT to stream my local police feed, and even with an upgraded antenna I still wasn't getting the best signal. A friend suggested SDR and got me in touch with someone he knew who (like a drug dealer) gave me my first NooElec RTL SDR dongle for free. I was hooked as soon as I started playing with it. Anyway, long story short, I bought a second one and set up UniTrunker and now my police feed is powered by SDR!

I made a short video that compares the feeds from the Broadcastify archives. I couldn't believe the difference I heard with SDR. One of my dongles doesn't even have a real antenna, just a piece of copper wire.

Here's the video: https://youtu.be/N3-sUe-32Cw

I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts!

br0adband

If anything I've got to say the end result your setup is producing sounds great to me, I prefer to hear a more bassy and not so heavily mid-to-high audio signal when I monitor comms myself so that sounds great. Since you say you have a 996XT which can do P25 Phase I my next question is whether or not this is supposed to be a digital system because if you didn't mix up the audio sources then what I'm hearing from the first section of the video (the 996XT I presume as stated) sounds more like a P25 Phase I data stream being decoded, at least that's what it sounds like to me given I've used Unitrunker with DSD+ to monitor some P25 Phase I traffic in my area and that's pretty much what I get as a result myself.