what I need to do to listen to 70cm on sdrsharp

Status
Not open for further replies.

doughyi8u

I've been playing with SDR# for a couple days now and can get 2 meter and FM broadcast radio but when I go to 70cm I can see a raise in frequency but I don't hear anything but noise. I have it set on NFM. I'm completely new to this so bear with me.

rbm

Have you adjusted the RF gain?
I usually run the RF gain somewhere around 30dB.

Are you using the little antenna that comes with most of the dongles?
If you are, and you still don't hear any local activity, you may need a better antenna.

Rich

doughyi8u

I have adjusted the gain and have a copper j-pole antenna. It looks like there's some activity but all I get is noise. Like I said, I can get some 2 meter and FM radio. Also, I'm new to this and don't know what a lot of the features do. I've tried NFM, AM, LSB, USB, etc and they all change sound but it's still just noise.

Thanks for your help.

rbm

It sounds like you have everything you need. ;)

NFM is probably what you would want to hear there.

However, seeing activity in the display doesn't mean ham activity. (or voice activity)
If you have any switching power supplies nearby, then you will likely see some 'hash' from them.

There's no activity on that band here right at this time.
But, here's what you can look for.

It's a screen capture of NFM activity on SatCom.
You can see two voice signals.
One at 253.750 MHz and another at 253.850 MHz.
You can pretty much see each syllable and the pauses in speech at both points.

There's one or two more weak signals further up the band.
The others are of unknown modulation or random signals.

Rich

Last edited:

doughyi8u

It looks like I'm getting a good signal but it's just noise as I've mentioned. I've attached a screenshot of SDR# running.

Attachments

• ham.jpg
    ham.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 1,450

rbm

That's not a voice signal.
But..... it IS a signal and not noise.

Probably a digital mode.

Rich

Edit: