rtl-sdr multi dongle trunking hardware - 800Mhz

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc3ajv

Premium Subscriber
I'm very new to all this and need some help.

I want to set up a scanning system to listen to my local public safety. I'm near Ocean City, MD but commute 45-50 minutes up rt113 through DE. I would like the system to operate mobile for my commute.

I've read the tutorials on rtl-sdr trunking systems. I have one knock off dongle and have successfully set up SDR#, but that's about as far as I've gone. I'm comfortable installing and setting up the other software pieces to the puzzle, but I'd like to focus on hardware first.

Here are links to the public safety frequencies I'm interested in:

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=411
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=314
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7214
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=386
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=9339
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=1211

DE is all Motorolla type II project 16 and Maryland looks like mostly EDACS project 25. The one question I haven't been able to answer is what the Maryland State Police are using to transmit on 39.6? Maybe a question for a different forum....

I would like to note that I currently have an Icom 2720h installed in my car hooked to a Tram 1265r NMO magnetic base and a Tram 1180 144/440 antenna. I'm just as new to ham radio as I am to scanning/sdr so I'm not sure if I can operate the Icom and a scanning system at the same time.

I would appreciate input/comments/suggestions on my planned scanning hardware below.

-Two rtl-sdr dongles
-Powered USB OTG hub with at least 2 full sized USB inputs
-Larsen tri-band 150/450/800 NMO antenna
-another NMO magnetic base (or use existing Tram 1265r if I can't run Icom 2720 at same time)

Here is where I'm hung up: