Choppy Audio op25 on Ubuntu 16.04

Status
Not open for further replies.

ansul1001

#1 Member
I got op25 up and running on Ubuntu 16.04 and listening to p25 phase 2 the only problem i am having is the audio is breaking up really bad is there a driver problem or maybe just a code i can run to fix this problem anyone else have this issue.

boatbod

So many possibilities...
Are you running from my github repo or the max branch? Are you running in a virtual machine or is ubuntu the host os? Are you using sockaudio (built in player) or nc | aplay? Is Pulse Audio running or disabled?

Once I fully understand your hardware setup I'll offer some guidance.

ansul1001

#1 Member
1. I am running ubuntu 16.04 on a laptop as the main operating system not on virtual
2. I installed the version from the main op25 page install instructions.
3. as for the sock audio or built in aplay I am new to the hole Ubuntu thing so i don't really no how to tell which one that i am using.
4. when i run the command line and check the log file it says default device

boatbod

1. I am running ubuntu 16.04 on a laptop as the main operating system not on virtual
2. I installed the version from the main op25 page install instructions.
3. as for the sock audio or built in aplay I am new to the hole Ubuntu thing so i don't really no how to tell which one that i am using.
4. when i run the command line and check the log file it says default device

Thanks, I've got a pretty good idea that you are on the Max branch (running rx.py based on earlier discussions) and the presence of the "audio device: default" string in the log says the audio player is sockaudio.py.

The reason for your audio choppiness is that ALSA buffer handling in that version of sockaudio.py is considerably less than optimal. It was an early version of the code which has since evolved considerably. Unfortunately the new version has not yet been pushed to osmocom's repository.