Software Defined Radio Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

JASII

Memory Capacity
I am sure that you guys get this question a lot. I am thinking of buying an SDR. Where do I start? I am mainly interest in VHF/UHF & 800 MHz. I like having the ability to decode various digital modes, including APCO P25, DMR, YSF, etc. Should I look at an AirSpy, an SDRplay RSP2pro, or something else?

Markb

Premium Subscriber
I think for digital decoding, an RTLSDR works well. I have a grip of them and they work great with Unitrunker, DSDPlus, etc...

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Hans13

Although new to the game, I have two RTL-SDR dongles and they seem to work very well for VHF and UHF. They are also inexpensive. When/if I get into lower frequencies, I will look into an up converter or maybe even a more dedicated SDR. For now, the RTL-SDR seems to work fine in the ranges discussed.

As a newbie, I recommend RTL-SDR; two of them if doing trunking type listening. Also, I use a 1' USB extension cable for each.

Last edited:

dlwtrunked

Premium Subscriber
I am sure that you guys get this question a lot. I am thinking of buying an SDR. Where do I start? I am mainly interest in VHF/UHF & 800 MHz. I like having the ability to decode various digital modes, including APCO P25, DMR, YSF, etc. Should I look at an AirSpy, an SDRplay RSP2pro, or something else?

I have an Airspy, SDRPlay RSP2 Pro, several different RTL-SDR dongles (and other radios), and other SDR radios. Why so many of these, I compare and use what I like best. I get asked this a lot and here is what I tell them.