Handheld bcd396xt receive range

Status
Not open for further replies.

krs3

Feed Provider
I have a question... I live approximately 30 miles from the EMS agency I wish to monitor that uses the Palmetto 800. Would I have a chance of receiving their transmission using the rubber duck antenna or would I have to add an outside antenna? Thanks

AB4BF

Premium Subscriber
How close to your location is the nearest PAL 800 tower?

Does the nearest tower handle the agencies you want to listen to?

The RR database will tell you which tower you need and the control channels required.

krs3

Feed Provider
I am in Chesterfield County and want to monitor Kershaw County EMS and Fire. They still dispatch on VHF but the ambulance communications are on 800mhz now. I really dont know a lot about 800mhz but I am starting to try and do some research and learn, Thanks for any help. I am a ham radio operator and have used VHF radios with our local EMS for years. Thanks for any advice.

AB4BF

Premium Subscriber
You have two possibilities, North Kershaw or Camden towers. Enter the control frequencies for each in your 396 as regular frequencies just to see which one has better signal strength or you could put both into your 396 as two different trunked systems as well as Chesterfield.
Good luck!

krs3

Feed Provider
there is a tower that is 7 miles north of me (McBee) on US1...I guess that is one you are referring to. I have not purchased a new scanner yet. Just trying to get a feel for if I can monitor on a handheld instead of a base. Also I do have a regular older 800mhz scanner that is not a trunk tracker. Is it possible to receive the analog frequencies on this scanner for Kershaw EMS. I am not sure if they are on digital or not. Thanks Again.

LarrySC