DFW and modes used

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trucker700

Hi, I recently bought a used BCD536HP. It came with ProVoice already installed. I was wondering if it would be worthwhile adding DMR and NXDN upgrades to the radio.
I'm fairly new to using digital scanners and not exactly sure what I might be missing not having the other two upgrades.
Thanks,
Trucker

Trucker700

Thanks. I live in south Fort Worth. Even with the factory antenna it seems to pick up a lot of activity from several communities near us. But, I do hear the machine gun sounding audio on a few channels. I did a Google search for raw recordings of DMR and NXDN and they sound similar to what I was hearing.
Trucker

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hi, I recently bought a used BCD536HP. It came with ProVoice already installed. I was wondering if it would be worthwhile adding DMR and NXDN upgrades to the radio.
I'm fairly new to using digital scanners and not exactly sure what I might be missing not having the other two upgrades.
Thanks,
Trucker
Depends on what you want to hear.

DFW Airport is transitioning to a new P25 Phase II system. However, some traffic is still being carried on their EDACS/ProVoice system. The EDACS system can be monitored if you have the ProVoice upgrade. Looking at the heavy traffic on some of the new P25 talkgroups, I think that one or more of them are PD, which cannot be monitored.

For the rest of the area, Dallas, city & county both, still use analog conventional frequencies for most communications. The larger suburbs are mostly on P25 trunked systems, some Phase I, others are Phase II. Most Tarrant County agencies are on FWRRS, which also carries Irving & Grand Prairie in Dallas County, plus agencies in Ellis and Johnson counties, south of Dallas & Fort Worth.

Four of the southern Dallas suburbs are on NXDN. Cedar Hill, Desoto, & Duncanville are NXDN on SWRCC. Lancaster has it's own NXDN system, but often interacts with Desoto, just to their west.