10 Meters - OPEK HVT-600/OPEK-400

msgelinne

I'm a tech and I'd like to take advantage of the recent openings on 10 meters.

I need a relatively small, portable antenna for attic use or something I can use indoors in my shack (base station).

I will be using my ICOM IC-706MKIIG and I have been looking at reviews of OPEK's HVT-600 or their HVT-400.

Both of these antenna's look like good possibilities for 10 meters.

I realize I could make my own antenna but does anyone have any thoughts on OPEK or other antenna's I should consider?

Appreciate the input.

Mike

VA3WEX

Premium Subscriber
I have an OPEK HVT-600 and also a Sirio Performer 5000 CB antenna which is broadbanded enough to do 10m and 12m as well as its native 11m. It actually works better than the OPEK, but is a bit longer. You assemble it, and leave it alone: no adjustments necessary.

If you want to use the OPEK, you have to unscrew a set screw and extend or retract the whip portion of the OPEK as well as set the jumpers to tune it to whatever band you're wanting--it's intended to be multi-banded, but there is no reason you can't "set it and forget it" for 10m if that's all you want. But it's a bit of a waste doing that--it has options to explore, and if you want to try work from CB (11m) through to 70cm you can do all that with the OPEK (the ICOM IC-706MKIIG goes up to 70cm, from what I can see).

It comes with an Allan key for the whip adjustment; don't drop the Allan key! It's slightly nonstandard (or perhaps just poor manufacturing quality)--if you lose the original, the 5/64 SAE size will work but is a little tight in the set screw.