• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

12/25 cable

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
Hello,

Will a Motorola 12/25 programming cable also work on an XPR2550?

I only have -1- to program, and rather not buy the cable if what I already have will suffice. I don't want to experiment with it, as I don't want to rish bricking the radio.

Thanks in advance
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
You are correct, I should have typed 2500
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,471
Gotcha. Refresh my memory, does the 1225 have a RIB?
 
  • Like
Reactions: RRR

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
It does not. USB from laptop to the "cat" type connection (similar to Kenwood mobiles)
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,471
Well you wont brick the radio if you try. If it works then it works, if not, you will get a communication error
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
Hello,

Will a Motorola 12/25 programming cable also work on an XPR-2500?
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,427
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
You can program your 2500 through the rear acc connector. The plug, & pin kit comes with every new radio in the box. Grab a printer cable, & cut off the printer plug. It took me 5 minutes to make one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RRR

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
I was hoping I could program it through the MIC. port. It is mounted in a vehicle, and I would have to remove it to get to the rear, and in it's current position, would be rather difficult.
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,427
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
I was hoping I could program it through the MIC. port. It is mounted in a vehicle, and I would have to remove it to get to the rear, and in it's current position, would be rather difficult.
Understood. I’m in a similar situation, but I attached the cable as I did the radio install, so it’s permanently in the car. This way, I don’t have to unplug the mike when I program the radio.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RRR

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
Yea, it's not mine, but I have a HHCH on my 5550, and I ran the printer cable from the rear where the radio is, up to the cabin, so I could program it without having to move stuff to access the radio.

If I had a fleet of 2500's, I would just get the cable, but it's just one truck, he likes it, and wants to keep it.
 

RRR

What?
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,772
10-4, I was hoping the 12/25 cable would be the same. I will have to drive to the guy with the radio
 
Top