2 antennas on one pole question?

bearcatrp

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
697
Location
Central Mn
If I put a T on my current antenna, run lets say 10 foot pole across. Can I put a HF antenna on one side and a discone on the other side BUT connecting them together? Since one shouldn't effect the other, would this work? Would put a T connector center of the T, then run one coax from there into the house. Doable?
 

ka3aaa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
686
Location
middletown, pa.
that's not a good idea, you will be better off with seperate feedlines for each antenna, and yes you can mount them on the same pole if you have enough seperation betweem them.
 

bearcatrp

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
697
Location
Central Mn
Will look into that. Thanks pcrguy. Would there be issues if I have my SDS200 and IC-705 connected and running at the same time? Am assuming no since different frequencies but then again, you know what happens when you assume.
 

prcguy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
10,263
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
With a typical diplexer made for amateur radio you can transmit all day long on HF while receiving on your scanner at the same time.

Will look into that. Thanks pcrguy. Would there be issues if I have my SDS200 and IC-705 connected and running at the same time? Am assuming no since different frequencies but then again, you know what happens when you assume.
 

bill4long

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,156
Location
Indiana
If I put a T on my current antenna, run lets say 10 foot pole across. Can I put a HF antenna on one side and a discone on the other side BUT connecting them together? Since one shouldn't effect the other, would this work? Would put a T connector center of the T, then run one coax from there into the house. Doable?
It would work it you use "diplexers" (small duplexers) on both ends. You didn't specify the frequency range of the discone, so I will assume VHF/UHF since you mentioned SDS200.

This diamond will handle 200w continous and 600 PEP, if you plan to transmit. (Keep in mind that is combined power.)


 
Last edited:

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,852
Location
So Cali
I would still have a RF Limiter on the Scanner antenna input... just to be safe.
Had to replace too may burned out 'front end fuses' aka transistors, in radios.
 

bill4long

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
1,156
Location
Indiana
I would still have a RF Limiter on the Scanner antenna input... just to be safe.
Had to replace too may burned out 'front end fuses' aka transistors, in radios.
His Icom outputs 100 watts. The cross suppression on the Diamond duplexer is -50db, which means at 100w, the max power bleedover is going to be 0.001 watts. Pretty low, but I agree with you. Unidens are not transmitters, so even that low level of power might present a problem. A second high pass filter into the Uniden would put a ribbon on it.

Personally, I would just run two spans of coax. But sharing a single coax line is doable.
 
Last edited:

bearcatrp

Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
697
Location
Central Mn
No transmit. Just listening. Just want one coax cable coming into the house. The SDS200 and the IC-705 or the R30 connected.
 
Top