• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

2020 Toyota, Ham Radio to battery run?

N1KK

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
70
Before I start drilling holes in my new Camry would anyone know the easiest path
to run a couple of wires from the battery to inside the car then to the trunk?

I wonder if Toyota has a recommendation cable wiring method?

thanks
Ken
 

kakorb

Newbie
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
1
Location
Springfield, Mass
under the carpet along the sill plate and then behind the back seat is the most direct route. Be careful under the back seat that there is enough room for the cable when you sit in the seat so you don't pinch it
 

AI7PM

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
530
Location
The Intermountain West
Only run one wire to the positive, and fuse it as close as possible to the battery. Get a heavy insulation wire and/or run it in loom secured under the car to the trunk. That's the easiest way back there. You can drill a hole in the most convenient spot to enter the trunk, and silicone seal the hole. There's plenty of metal surfaces in the trunk to ground to chassis.
 

N1KK

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
70
what about getting from the battery into the car. I can run 2 wires if there is a rubber grommet to get through.
I found what looks like a rubber grommet but its on the opposite side of the battery. I can't see the other end
inside the car. Looks to be behind the Glove Compartment

Ken
 

dlwtrunked

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
753
In my 2006 (with 400,000 miles), there is a plate on the drivers side under the dash that was easy to remove to pass a wired to the battery. that plate must have been for doing something like this. And it is easy to pass a wire behind the rear seats to the trunk. Inside the sitting area, wires can be put under the trim. Of course that was a 2006 and cars increasingly get less radio friendly.
 

prcguy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
9,735
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
My wifee has a 2015 Camry and there were a few unused rubber grommets on the firewall to pass cables to the under dash area. From there pop the sill plate as others have mentioned and run the wire(s) in the trough along the base of the doors. You can tuck the wire(s) under the plastic side panels between the rear door and back seat then there are easy paths through the seat into the trunk.

For a ground wire I would first check on how that car senses battery and charging as some have sensors and if you run a separate ground you will throw off the sensors. If there are no sensors to be bothered and your device will be drawing more than about 5 amps I would run a separate ground wire from the battery to the trunk. If the device you are installing will wire into the vehicle sound system you could have ground loop problems that brings out alternator whine in the sound system and the ground wire will increase that probability but there are ways to fix it.
 

N1KK

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
70
I watched a youtube on a 2020 Camry LE showing how to install a audio amp in the trunk. Part
of the youtube was showing how to get the power through the firewall using a rubber grommet
on the drivers side of the Firewall. I didn't see this grommet today but did see something
on the passenger side.
Ken
 

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
554
Location
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
I didn't see this grommet today but did see something
on the passenger side.
Many Toyotas have a bilateral symmetry on their firewalls to accommodate left and right hand drive models. Look in the vicinity of the ABS brake assembly on the firewall, in the same relative position as on the passenger side.

An alternative that may work is to run the power cable in the same grommet space as the main wiring loom. However, there may not be enough room for an extra set of wires. Worth looking though.
 
Top