• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

2055 help

Status
Not open for further replies.

EFD118

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
5
Location
Elmira Ont
I am using win 97 software to program a Mot type II system vhf (141 mhz) I am not able to input the base freq's without them being rounded off. When scanner is trunking audio is a normal level then other times audio is very low. Not sure if this is due to the freq's being rounded off? Also in open mode no talk groups are being heard.
My Question is can you stop the rounding off of the freq's some how?

Any help would be appreciated.
Bob
 
Last edited:

rpowley

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Messages
515
Location
Rowlett, Texas
EFD118 said:
I am using win 97 software to program a Mot type II system vhf (141 mhz) I am not able to input the base freq's without them being rounded off. When scanner is trunking audio is a normal level then other times audio is very low. Not sure if this is due to the freq's being rounded off? Also in open mode no talk groups are being heard.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bob
Bob - If your referring to Bell Fleetnet check out the Eastern Canada Forum. Quite a bit of info.
 

EFD118

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
5
Location
Elmira Ont
Yes I am listening to the fleetnet in S Ont. Have been on that group but have not found a solution there.
 

rpowley

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Messages
515
Location
Rowlett, Texas
I played around with WIN 97, both manually and using the web import feature. I couldn't fix the rounding issue - maybe someone will have an answer - if it's possible. I did notice that the system in general has a lot of digital and some encrypted TG's.
 

TES

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
866
Location
America's High Plains
From the PRO-2055 manual:

Your scanner automatically rounds the entered frequency to the nearest valid
frequency. For example, if you enter a frequency of 151.53, your scanner accepts it
as 151.5275. Reception of the frequency will not be adversely affected.
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
TES:
He is not referring to the frequency programmed in the bank, he is worried about the channel assignments resulting from a rounded BASE frequency in the custom table.

Interesting problem, it does not seem to exist in the Win96 or Win95/93 programs, all accept 141.0150 as a base frequency just fine. :confused:

If you are manually setting the Pro97/2055, does it round the table entry when you put it in?
 

EFD118

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
5
Location
Elmira Ont
Have not tried it manually,I will try that. Also there does not seem to be a vhf setting for MoT trunking, only 800mhz ( splinter or normal) in the win 97 software.

It is 141.015 that is being rounded to 141.0125
 
Last edited:

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
EFD118 said:
Have not tried it manually,I will try that. Also there does not seem to be a vhf setting for MoT trunking, only 800mhz ( splinter or normal) in the win 97 software.

It is 141.015 that is being rounded to 141.0125
Well, I don't have Win97, (since Don is not likely to provide me a copy for nothing and I don't own a radio it would work on) so let me say that in Win95/93, there is no setting to say what frequency range you are using, it just is assumed that if you program VHF frequencies in a MOT bank with MOT as a frequency type that the system is VHF and will use the table.

In Win96 it is set up differently because of the ability to monitor P25, 9600 bps CCh's and standard 3600 bps CCh's.
 

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,665
In the range 138.0000 - 143.9875 the PRO-2055 step size is 12.50 kHz. This is most compatible with US military systems but is not so good in Canada where a 5 kHz step is used. The PRO-96 uses a 5 kHz step size in this frequency range. Neither radio has an adjustable step size which is something Radio Shack needs to correct in whatever the next model is. In any case getting within 2.5 kHz is usually close enough for the radio to work.

If you have Win97, the step sizes for every frequency range are tabulated in the SR6 Limit Search tab. The PRO-97 manual does not provide detailed step size listings for the VHF Hi band although it should.

There is no mention of how to program VHF-Hi Motorola trunked systems in the PRO-97 manual. It appears that the PRO-97 will not track those systems.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top