• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

2096 problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

HOLEBILLY

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
Just got my 2096 back from RS after a month.When I sent it in I could not here any conv freqs at all , digital was great now that i got it back conv freqs is super and no digital at all. It stops on the cc and shows the tg but no voice.They said they replaced the PC board at 177 dollars.They said they checked vhf and uhf and are working fine,wish they would have checked digital freqs. Well looks like 2096 gone for another month.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
"It stops on the cc and shows the tg but no voice."

Sounds like you've programmed it wrong, it needs to be set up as MO with the bank as MO too. You must have it conventional if it's stopping on the control channel, so it's a progrmming error and not radio problem.
 

HOLEBILLY

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
I programmed it with win 96 and did program the bank as MO that have the digital freqs . I programmed the banks with conv freqs as conv.
 

tspainiv

Shelby Co DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 26, 2004
Messages
656
Location
Collierville, TN
did you also set the CC and frequencies at MOT? You have to set both the frequency and the bank as MOT.
 

HOLEBILLY

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
Yes I did. I also taled to the RS tech that worked on my radio,he said he put the wrong rf pc board in to send it back and he would put the right one in.
 

HOLEBILLY

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
196
2096 problem fixed

Well I just got word from radio shack and they told me to go get a new 2096 on them, they said they could not fix the problem.So after almost two months without my radio I quess I get a brand new one.
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
HOLEBILLY said:
Well I just got word from radio shack and they told me to go get a new 2096 on them, they said they could not fix the problem.So after almost two months without my radio I quess I get a brand new one.

Great! I hope this one works out for you.
 

firemanar

Member
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1
Location
North Little Rock, AR
Problems with my 2096

I am having simial problems. The CC on mine on the Arkansas AWIN hangs up on digital. Before and after the transmission you hear the computer noise. Has anyone else had this problem also it takes about 3 mins before my scanner will even load past the DSP Screen to scan.
 

SLWilson

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
1,215
Location
Ohio
My 2096 deaf on VHF-Hi....

HOLEBILLY said:
Just got my 2096 back from RS after a month.When I sent it in I could not here any conv freqs at all , digital was great now that i got it back conv freqs is super and no digital at all.
I have a 2096 that "seems to be deaf" on VHF-Hi band freqs unless the signal is "very close" to the radio....I have an outside antenna and it hears the Ohio trunked system very well. I can hear CC's from towers in 3 counties on the outside antenna, but, VHF-Hi just isn't worth a darn!!!! With the pull-up factory antenna, I can only hear one trunked site that is close to me....The VHF-Hi freqs actually do come in a little better on the pull-up antenna than the outside one....Go figure THAT one !!!!!

Granted, I didn't buy it to hear Hi band, but, you'd think that for the price, it WOULD have a little better RX than it does!!!!

Steve/Gallia :confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top