245 programming question**newbie content**

Status
Not open for further replies.

csx4780

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
19
Location
Altoona, IA
SO after resetting my 245 and wiping it out, I am trying to program this for me. I got one bank programmed with some of the fire stuff in the 154 range. Pretty straightforward. Where I am now is trying to program my first Type IIi system. I have all the frequencies programmed in, and the scanner picks up traffic. So far so good. What I want to program is a specific talkgroup(?)/subfleet. I *believe* I have the system fleetmap programmed right, the bank is set to E1 per the manual. What I cannot seem to do is program the subfleet id I want which is 503-01. This is the only ID I want on this system, it is local NWS storm feed to the emergency management agencies during crappy weather. Can someone point me in the right direction? I'm doing this by hand until my cable arrives (lost a long time ago).

Travis
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,215
Location
Bowie, Md.
<sigh> Once again, what system you are programming?

Defining a hybrid system is a little tricky - you have to program the fleetmap as well as a system type. To be honest, since we don't have any hybrids in my area, I've never had to do it. But that does seem to be the error here.

73 Mike
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,044
Location
Fortunately, GA
<sigh> Once again, what system you are programming?

Defining a hybrid system is a little tricky - you have to program the fleetmap as well as a system type. To be honest, since we don't have any hybrids in my area, I've never had to do it. But that does seem to be the error here.

73 Mike
Mike, here is the system he is trying to program: http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=5658
I have no clue how to enter a subfleet TG. This is what he is asking about.
Larry
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,044
Location
Fortunately, GA
Mike, here is the system he is trying to program: http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=5658
I have no clue how to enter a subfleet TG. This is what he is asking about.
Larry
Mike this is not the system he is trying to monitor. This is one of the three TypeIIi in Polk County, Iowa. None of these have 503-1 as a subfleet. Plus, I have no clue how to program a subfleet ID.
Travis--what system are you trying to program???? You seem to think we are mindreaders:)

Larry
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,215
Location
Bowie, Md.
Yes, that's the way to do it on the 245. A decimal between the fleet and subfleet 73 Mike
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,044
Location
Fortunately, GA
Yes, that's the way to do it on the 245. A decimal between the fleet and subfleet 73 Mike
Thanks Mike and Jerri, it's been a while since my 245. The last Uniden owned was a BC92. All GRE since and programmed via software.
Larry
 

csx4780

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
19
Location
Altoona, IA
Sorry guys, thought I put as much info as I know in the op. It is actually a hybrid system in Story County. The NWS Micron runs off of that. Sorry for the confusion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top