• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

396t after i put the new firmware on.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pinellasfirefighter

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
438
Location
seminole fl
it seems now not to have the same sound quality and reception on my system now. there is alot of hissing and crackling.. anybody else notice this?
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
I just recently updated mine and havent noticed any problems.

Only thing I didnt like about the update was the new volume control incraments.

-Dylan
 

pinellasfirefighter

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
438
Location
seminole fl
yeah i`m not happy with the volume control either.. maybe our system is having alittle interfernce today. i didnt notice it before i downloaded the firmware.. maybe you can help me something else i notice when you press the hold button and press the nob twice. numbers come up that can be adjusted such as its set on 8 right now beside that it saids auto then under that there are numbers such as 1.38 1.60 1.82 can you tell what this is for? and what it should be set on.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
That would be to adjust the P25 level when monitoring digital systems. For more info go to page 102 of the manual, and it has everything you need to know about that feature.

-Dylan
 

pinellasfirefighter

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
438
Location
seminole fl
is there anyway to get the firmware i had before? i`m not happy with this new version. ever since i put it on my scanner sounds like ****.. now there is distortion , crackling , interference , its not picking up the system as good and not to mention the vloume control problem.. oh well i`m looking on the bright side of things my new 996t is up and working crystal clear with a strong signal. lol which my 396t had before i d/l the new firmware on it..
 

wjf

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
483
Location
Witness Protection Program
pinellasfirefighter said:
is there anyway to get the firmware i had before? i`m not happy with this new version. ever since i put it on my scanner sounds like ****.. now there is distortion , crackling , interference , its not picking up the system as good and not to mention the vloume control problem.. oh well i`m looking on the bright side of things my new 996t is up and working crystal clear with a strong signal. lol which my 396t had before i d/l the new firmware on it..

PM me your email and I'll send you v. 1.10.
 

ems170

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
240
Location
Connecticut
try turning off the AGC. If the system has it enabled the radio needs it off. two AGCs will make the audio sound horrible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top