• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

700Mhz Comes To Hampton Roads Area Virginia

Status
Not open for further replies.

RBMTS

WA Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
616
Location
Naperville, IL
Listen up! 775.0875 Mhz. Good P25 data signal in Virginia Beach. Was almost full strength around Mt. Trashmore Park. It is reading a SID of 01E0. This could be the start of the new ORION Interop system. No group ID's heard yet, but I have not been able to listen in the daytime when comms might be most present.
 

Larry51

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
80
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Good catch. After I read your post, I tuned in to 775.0875 and heard the same data signal. I searched the FCC data base for that freq as well as for the range 774-776 and found nothing (I wasn't surprised). This could possibly be the start of Orion. Anyone else out there have some ideas?
 

RBMTS

WA Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
616
Location
Naperville, IL
Lots of field / range testing today. Active TG of 12801 for the techs. Voice channel was 774.5312 (as per the display on the 396). The actual transmitter site is at VBFD Station 16 (Rosemont & S. Plaza Trail). I think the data channel might actually be on 774.0850. I played with the step sizes on the 396 and was able to pickup the data channel on 775.0812, 775.0850, and 775.0875. The middle frequency seems the strongest - however it's anyones guess at this time without a license appearing on the FCC database.

I believe they are using the VA State general 700Mhz license for the system. It's probably on test frequencies at this time, and will most likely change once dedicated frequencies are assigned.
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
FPO703 said:
How can they be setting up a system on unlicensed frequencies and not get busted?
LOL,

Maybe the frequencies are licensed to the state and used with concurrence?:roll:

(But I am just guessing) :wink:
 

FPO703

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
2,624
Location
Planet Earth
The frequencies are not licensed anywhere. do a lookup on any of them in the FCC Database and you'll see for yourself.
 

Webodisk

Mike
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
756
Location
Virginia Beach,VA
Got a CW id using procom96 Wptz775, When I run it thru FCC I get and error about not having permission

Callsign Results [ULS DATABASE]



Additional Callsign Licensee Name Service
SITE WPTZ775 Virginia, Commonwealth of SL
Status Code COMM/PRIV Attn Phone
Active Y Paul D. Hoppes 8043715580
Address P O Box City State
110 S 7th St 3rd Floor Richmond VA
Zip Auth Issue Date Expire Date
23219 N Jan 18, 2002 Jan 18, 2017
Printed Last Change Applicant Elig
Jan 22, 2002 Jan 18, 2002 G






Mike
 
Last edited:

gcgrotz

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
2,091
Location
Charlottesville
I don't think that spectrum has been given to PS, I believe TV still has it for a couple more years. Possibly they have an STA for testing, wouldn't show up in the database.

P.S. However, I remember the state of Nevada had state pd on a system they just made up freqs for, including fed and railroad. Got in a bunch of trouble too.
 

gcgrotz

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
2,091
Location
Charlottesville
See, I admit I didn't take time to look. I was making a WAG at it. I guess from looking at the application there are no specific freqs assigned so that must be done through APCO. Just another WAG.

On a related note, this weeks issue of RCR Wireless news has a story about Verizon and a company called Cyren Call Communications are proposing to build nationwide public safety networks in the 700 MHz band and lease them back to the agencies that want service. If that happens there will be no more monitoring of any of the participating agencies.
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
gcgrotz said:
See, I admit I didn't take time to look. I was making a WAG at it. I guess from looking at the application there are no specific freqs assigned so that must be done through APCO. Just another WAG.

On a related note, this weeks issue of RCR Wireless news has a story about Verizon and a company called Cyren Call Communications are proposing to build nationwide public safety networks in the 700 MHz band and lease them back to the agencies that want service. If that happens there will be no more monitoring of any of the participating agencies.

No reason to guess, there is much written on all these issues.
 

Stick0413

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 16, 2005
Messages
1,117
Location
Hopewell, VA
gcgrotz said:
On a related note, this weeks issue of RCR Wireless news has a story about Verizon and a company called Cyren Call Communications are proposing to build nationwide public safety networks in the 700 MHz band and lease them back to the agencies that want service. If that happens there will be no more monitoring of any of the participating agencies.
I am sorta new at this. Been scanning for years but just now getting into serious trunking and digital stuff. You say it will be the last of monitoring the participating agencies when they go to 700MHz. I was wondering how this is. I can program frequencies from 764.00000 on up in the 700MHz band (In my Pro-96.) Just wondering if they are going to go lower in the 700 band or what.
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
Stick0413 said:
I am sorta new at this. Been scanning for years but just now getting into serious trunking and digital stuff. You say it will be the last of monitoring the participating agencies when they go to 700MHz. I was wondering how this is. I can program frequencies from 764.00000 on up in the 700MHz band (In my Pro-96.) Just wondering if they are going to go lower in the 700 band or what.
These networks, if they ever happen will be cellular like technology akin to TETRA, iDEN, and/or CDMA.
 

gcgrotz

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
2,091
Location
Charlottesville
N_Jay said:
These networks, if they ever happen will be cellular like technology akin to TETRA, iDEN, and/or CDMA.
Right. Just because they are 700MHz does not mean anything. IF the agencies choose to join these networks (IF they even get built), THEN you can forget about monitoring them. You can be sure that many agencies will not easily give up control of their public safety networks, and even if they move to 700 they could use a more conventional system.

I work for a CDMA carrier and we can't monitor individual conversations off the air. The closest we could come in the field is to monitor it at the T1 level. Even that is going away with the introduction of packet backhaul. Of course, calls can be monitored at the switch in compliance with CALEA federal wiretap laws. But over the air... nope.

Even so N_Jay, I guess I didn't realize that they were handing out 700 Mhz licenses yet. If you have any more info, let us know.

Also, Stick0413, there are commercial wireless (cellular/pcs) allocations and public safety allocations at 700. The commercial carriers will have to bid for them at auction.
 
Last edited:
N

N_Jay

Guest
gcgrotz said:
. . . Even so N_Jay, I guess I didn't realize that they were handing out 700 Mhz licenses yet. If you have any more info, let us know.
. . . ..

All it takes is a ULS license search:roll: :confused:
 

trainman111

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
1,022
Location
Henrico, VA
I have a question. If you can't monitor 700Mhz. communications, what is the point in creating a scanner that can scan it? If I can remember correctly, the BCD996t can monitor 700Mhz., but what's the point? You're not going to hear anything...right?

Nick
 
N

N_Jay

Guest
trainman111 said:
I have a question. If you can't monitor 700Mhz. communications, what is the point in creating a scanner that can scan it? If I can remember correctly, the BCD996t can monitor 700Mhz., but what's the point? You're not going to hear anything...right?

Nick
I think you have misread what is in this thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top