70cm Coax Collinear - need Balun help

Status
Not open for further replies.

NYCone

I'm very new to ham radio, licensed in the last few months. I'm trying to build a coax collinear for 70cm following designs like:

I've modified the materials a bit, I'm using LMR400 for the elements. My question comes from the balun aspect. I don't understand how baluns are designed and the methods I'm using call for toroids and a copper tube to be placed on the feedline.

My questions are as follows:
  1. FT50-43 toroids (called for in one design) won't fit over LMR400, so I ordered some FT83-43s instead. Will these work properly?
  2. Are there other easier options for the balun than the copper tube, toroid method?
  3. Some folks have commented that these designs don't really work. Are there folks who have built these who know how well they work?
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

prcguy

The FT-83-43 ferrite will work fine as a replacement. The "balun" shown in the link is a two part thing. The first is a 1/4 wave "bazooka", which is a 1/4 wavelength resonant tube over the coax starting at the feedpoint and running down the feelline, insulated at the feedpoint and grounded 1/4 wave down from the feedpoint. That will encourage RF not to travel (much) beyond the feedpoint and down the coax. The second part is the ferrite which will absorb some RF on the shield and reduce feedline radiation. I would not use LMR400 as its difficult to solder and the dialectic will melt if you look at it too long.

I'm very new to ham radio, licensed in the last few months. I'm trying to build a coax collinear for 70cm following designs like:

I've modified the materials a bit, I'm using LMR400 for the elements. My question comes from the balun aspect. I don't understand how baluns are designed and the methods I'm using call for toroids and a copper tube to be placed on the feedline.

My questions are as follows: