absolute beginner - where to start?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemz

I've tried looking on the wiki and here and can't find any pointers for an absolute beginner.

My goal is to listen in on emergency systems like police, ems and fd (in southern ontario if that makes any difference). Could somebody please point me to some articles where to start or throw in a bunch of terms i could google? I don't even know what to look for :(

thank you!

I pondered this for a few minutes. I wonder if it wouldn't be better to buy a simple conventional scanner off Ebay for $30 or something and play around with conventional frequencies to get started (the simple old school stuff). Or, would it be better to plop down $500 and buy a digital scanner, jumping in with both feet. I really don't know.

Most of us here got our start in much simpler times. It would seem intimidating to start now from scratch, with thousands for frequencies to enter now in the world of digital trunking.

But I think the local radio frequency guide (I use the southwest frequency directory around here) would be a good place to start.

See this site.

http://www.scannerstuff.com/swfd.htm

If you can find the last issue of police call get that as well. Learn the basics of radio first. Understanding the foundation of radio science is the best starting point, followed by how public safety radio systems operate (there are different types).

captclint

Mentor
I've tried looking on the wiki and here and can't find any pointers for an absolute beginner. My goal is to listen in on emergency systems like police, ems and fd (in southern ontario if that makes any difference). C