Adding sample audio to each DB Entry

Status
Not open for further replies.

enosjones

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
1,192
Location
Price, Utah
Could it be possible to attach a audio sample of the site or system on the database as a reference as to what's carried on that system and what it sounds like, especially these not very used frequencies or systems...


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
 

marksmith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,214
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
Not sure exactly what purpose that would serve. The sample might be very unlike what you might listen to.

Mark
536/436/WS1095/HP1/HP2/996T/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800/15X/others
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
13,666
Location
Indianapolis, IN
And would require massive infrastructure changes and with statewide systems be futile.

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
5,131
Location
Ohio
Unlikely

I can say that's pretty unlikely; the amount of server space needed for storage of the files alone makes it impractical, especially when talking about trunked systems, some with hundreds of talkgroups.

In addition, a single clip wouldn't really be representative of the variety of traffic and personalities to be heard out there on a conventional frequency, and trunked systems would be even worse. With the wide variety of users found on them, a single clip wouldn't even begin to capture the variety.
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
13,666
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Pretty much has existed for years now at
Digital*Modes*Samples
Nope. Not what he wants. He wants an actual audio clip of commas on system as an preview. For one I pray we never do that. Want to know what's on it? Read the db entries prog it in and monitor!

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,097
Location
Bowie, Md.
If you want to hear a sample of the audio of a particular system, you should register on Broadcastify. As Tom says. it would take an enormous amount of server space, not to mention time and effort, for such a task

Mike
 

enosjones

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
1,192
Location
Price, Utah
I was thinking just 15 sec next to the entry. I stream scanner already on Broadcastify, not to upload to the scanner.. Like DMR for example is businesses here and multiple businesses use one license, it may just be helpful to know what they would hear in case the exact company would be in question


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
 

marksmith

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,214
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
There is no way anybody could draw any conclusions about a system or frequency by listening to 15 seconds, and it would take massive changes to the site, which does a great job now.

If you are really into this hobby at all, program it in and listen to it. That's why you have the radio.

Mark
536/436/WS1095/HP1/HP2/996T/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800/15X/others
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
11,409
Location
Taxachusetts
Yea...
I thought it was just to ID what P25, DMR etc sound like.

I hope it never occurs as well. A Short clip from something or routine event would have no bearing on what you are hearing, especially since TAC are prohibited from feeds.
Nope. Not what he wants. He wants an actual audio clip of commas on system as an preview. For one I pray we never do that. Want to know what's on it? Read the db entries prog it in and monitor!

Sent from my LG-K330 using Tapatalk
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
11,409
Location
Taxachusetts
the chances of the same dispatcher talking to the same driver/delivery/ambulance being heard, and be the same as the audio clip...you'd have a better time with the Lottery
I was thinking just 15 sec next to the entry. I stream scanner already on Broadcastify, not to upload to the scanner.. Like DMR for example is businesses here and multiple businesses use one license, it may just be helpful to know what they would hear in case the exact company would be in question


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top