Advice requested: Geographically disparate parts of the same municipal entity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay911

Silent Key (April 15th, 2023)
Feed Provider
Hey folks, looking for some input here - needs some background, though, before I get in to the question.

In Canada, and especially in Alberta, "native reserves" or First Nations are independent entities on a quasi-federal level. Technically they are "within" the province they're surrounded by, but they enjoy several special considerations as well. Back when I was an admin, I had every First Nation and Métis Settlement (a similar kind of entity unique to Alberta) created as separate counties. Now, there is a drive to do away with a number of these since they have no true municipal presence and exist in name only (kind of like a neighborhood in a city - they have no unique elements relevant to radio communications, per se).

There is a ticket in Mantis to get this work and other county changes in Alberta done - been over a year, but it's still present and waiting to be actioned, at http://mantis.radioreference.com/view.php?id=1131.

Where the question comes up is, there are some First Nations reservations which have two or more areas that are quite a distance apart from one another. An example in my neck of the woods is the Stoney Nakoda First Nation, listed in the RRDB as "Nakoda Reserve". Along with the main reserve, there is a small region a hundred or so miles away which is technically part of the Stoney nation, but is known as the "Eden Valley Reserve" (also in the RRDB under that name - and due to be eliminated in the above Mantis ticket). Eden Valley is essentially a village - there is no separate municipal government, etc., for this region. It is managed as part of the Stoney nation.