Am I programming to many sites?

k27

Hi, I'm new to scanning Utah. I Live in weber county but work a lot in Salt Lake County. I only have interest in scanning Weber, Davis, Salt Lake counties.

My scanner is fully programmed & working and picking up feeds sometime static. But I was wondering am I doing it wrong. For Instance, when I program Weber County dispatch, I will select Weber CO simulcast, then also add in Davis County simulcast and Salt Lake simulcast just so I can still hear weber transmission in Salt Lake and vice versa. Is this correct or should I only be programing in weber county simulcast for my area to get clear transmissions?

buddrousa

Premium Subscriber
1 Are you using this scanner as a Base or Mobile?
2 Are you with in range of the sites you entered?
3 Each System needs in it own list not all together.
4 What Scanner are you using?
5 If you are in the middle of more than 1 site you need to most likely us a Uniden SDSx00 Scanner.

Reconrider

If they are simlucasting with each other, the talkgroups should go across those towers also.
As a saying I've read many times here on RR, "the less you scan the more you hear"

k27

1 Are you using this scanner as a Base or Mobile?
2 Are you with in range of the sites you entered?
3 Each System needs in it own list not all together.
4 What Scanner are you using?
5 If you are in the middle of more than 1 site you need to most likely us a Uniden SDSx00 Scanner.
Thanks for responding.
1. I am using this as handheld mobile - mostly to hear what’s going on around me at home and work.
2.Not sure how close I’m in range to the sites, I’m new to Weber County Utah. I live in Roy Utah. Is there a map to see how close I am to the sites?