AM Radio Interference w/Ham It Up & NESDR SMArt

hax0rwax0r

Premium Subscriber
Disclaimer:

I am completely new to this. I probably have no idea what I am doing here.

Issue:

I am hearing my local 700 kHz AM radio channel bleed into many other non-AM radio frequency bands. It's on lots of frequency bands but for sake of narrowing this down, I am trying to listen to 80 meter. I am tuned into 3.745.784 and am getting the AM radio channel. It has a hum and is fuzzy but it's very clearly there.

I have attached a screenshot. It's also audible up at the 3.900M seen in the screenshot (it's much clearer there, too) and down just below 80 meters at 3.495.974. It happens on other frequencies that aren't near the 80 meter band as well (e.g 2.996 MHz and 2.497 MHz).

This also happens when using a 25' piece of RG8U coax that I had running through an open sliding door to test it all out. All the other parts mentioned below were still in-line to test and only the main segment of coax was swapped out (and the CTC-50M was not shut in a window yet, but it was still attached).

Thoughts on what could be causing this and how do I resolve it?

Hardware:

Antenna - end-fed "random wire" HF dipole 9:1 antenna that is supposed to be good for 80-6 meters
SDR - Nooelec NESDR SMArt w/Nooelec Ham It Up v1.3 upconverter
Coax - 50' Jetstream 400FLEX ("LMR-400 flex equivalent")
Coax - 3' Jetstream RG213U
Other - Comet CTC-50M (feed-thru jumper for running through closed window)
Other - SMA male to SO-239 female adapter
Other - SMA male to SMA male RG316 jumper (15cm)

Software:

AIRSPY SDR# Studio v1.0.0.1909

Connectivity Chain:

Antenna -> 50' 400FLEX -> CTC-50M -> 3' RG213U -> SO-239/SMA Adapter -> Ham It Up -> RG316 SMA jumper -> NESDR SMArt SDR -> USB 3.0 extension -> PC

Additional Settings:

In SDR# my RTL-SDR controller is set to 3.2 MSPS sample rate and 2.7 dB RF gain.

Attachments

• 700wlw_on_3.745.784-min.png
    700wlw_on_3.745.784-min.png
    783.9 KB · Views: 19

rabbit108